Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Ashes 2021-22 schedule announced, Australia to start title defence in Brisbane

New Delhi: The England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and Cricket Australia (CA) finally announced the men’s and women’s Ashes series schedule for 2021-22 to be staged in Australia.

The Ashes Series (Photo Credit: Cricket Australia)

New Delhi: The England & Wales Cricket Board (ECB) and Cricket Australia (CA) finally announced the men’s and women’s Ashes series schedule for 2021-22 to be staged in Australia.

According to the official release, the first Men’s Ashes Test series will kickoff at Brisbane’s Gabba on December 8 and will go on till December 12 ahead of a day-night Test at the Adelaide Oval from December 16-20.

This time, the traditional Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests will be played at the Melbourne Cricket Ground  (December 16-20) and at the Sydney Cricket Ground (January 5-9) respectively.

Meanwhile, the final Test has been scheduled for Perth’s Optus Stadium from January 14-18.

Steve Smith, Jofra Archer (Photo Credit: Cricket Australia)

The multi-format Women’s Ashes series is scheduled for a start at Manuka Oval in Canberra, with the Women’s Ashes Test match from set to begin from January 27-30.

The white-ball matches, which combine with the Test match to form the multi-format series, kick off with three T20Is, to be played at the North Sydney Oval, Sydney (4 and 6 February) and the Adelaide Oval (10 February).

The multi-format series concludes with three ODIs at Adelaide Oval (13 February) and the Junction Oval in Melbourne (16 and 19 February).

At the end of the Women’s Ashes series, England will depart for New Zealand to participate in the ICC Women’s World Cup in a year that will also see them represent Team England at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

ECB Chief Executive Officer Tom Harrison expressed his thoughts about the much-awaited Ashes series and said: “An Ashes series in Australia is a global highlight of the cricketing calendar and is always a focus series for England teams.”

“It’s a hugely exciting prospect that both men’s and women’s squads will be heading to Australia. It promises to be a highly competitive and close contest with teams in both series, evenly matched. I have little doubt that the rivalry and drama will once again capture the interest of sports lovers across the globe,” he added.

Meanwhile, Nick Hockley, Cricket Australia’s Interim CEO, said: “We are absolutely thrilled to announce our men’s and women’s international fixtures for the 2021-22 summer of cricket. The lessons learned from successfully delivering a safe summer in 20-21 gives us confidence on what we’re able to achieve, and we’re all hoping for a summer of full crowds and an Ashes atmosphere we’re all accustomed to.”

“The Ashes is one of the great global sporting rivalries and seems to grow ever larger with each series and generation. We cannot wait to host England Men over five Tests this summer. The most recent Men’s Ashes series was a remarkable contest that captured the imagination of the entire cricketing world and I expect this summer to be no different,” he added.

CA has considered Covid quarantine periods for all international series into its 2021-22 fixture in line with current guidelines. The cricket governing body in Australia also added that they continue to work closely with relevant Federal and State Government agencies and will provide updates on international quarantine, domestic biosecurity and crowd measures in due course.

England Men’s warm-up schedule, ahead of the Ashes, will be announced in due course.

Men’s Ashes Schedule – 2021-22

1st Test: 8-12 December – Gabba, Brisbane

2nd Test: 16-20 December – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide (Day/night)

3rd Test: 26-30 December – MCG, Melbourne

4th Test: 5-9 January – SCG, Sydney

5th Test: 14-18 January – Optus Stadium, Perth

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Women’s Ashes Schedule – 2022

Test: 27-30 January – Manuka Oval, Canberra

1st T20I: 4 February – North Sydney Oval, Sydney

2nd T20I: 6 February – North Sydney Oval, Sydney

3rd T20I: 10 February – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

1st ODI: 13 February – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

2nd ODI: 16 February – Junction Oval, Melbourne

3rd ODI: 19 February – Junction Oval, Melbourne

You May Also Like


Malayali engineer Dhanya Raveendran, who married Afghan national Homayon Khoram and lived under the Taliban in the nineties, recounts their story of love and...


Amid ongoing political tussle among party leaders in Punjab, Congress held a meeting of the legislative party at 5 pm on Saturday. According to...


Babul Supriyo’s departure is a blow for the BJP especially because it had built him big until recently.


So today, as the captain bids farewell to Punjab CMs chair , he will have PK to thank in some parts too.