ICC Hall of Fame Announces Special Inductions Ahead of World Test Championship Final

ICC Hall of Fame Announces Special Inductions Ahead of World Test Championship Final Cricket Representational Photo (Photo Credit: Unsplash)

New Delhi: Ahead of the much-anticipated final of the World Test Championship (WTC), International Cricket Council (ICC) on Thursday announced a special edition of the ICC Hall of Fame.

In an official release, ICC announced that ten cricketing legends who made a significant contribution to the history of Test cricket will get inducted with the 93 players, who are already in the illustrious list of ICC Hall of Famers.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli-led India Begin Training in Southampton for World Test Championship Final

The special intake will see two players from each of the following five eras join the ranks of the world’s greatest players.

Early Cricket Era (pre-1918)
Inter-War Cricket Era (1918 – 1945)
Post-War Cricket Era (1946 – 1970)
ODI Era (1971 – 1995)
Modern Cricket Era (1996 – 2016)

“It is an honour for us to announce a one-time induction of ten cricketing greats into the ICC Hall of Fame to coincide with the first ever final of the World Test Championship in Southampton,” ICC Acting Chief Executive Geoff Allardice said.

“We are celebrating the history of the game and what better way than to honour some of the greats that founded and played the game across different eras. These are all players with a legacy that will continue to inspire future generations for years to come,” he added.

ALSO READ: World Test Championship Final: ICC Clarifies Follow-On Rule for India vs New Zealand Match

The ICC’s independent statistician will compile a longlist of ex-players or other significant cricketing figures for each era (based on the period during which they had their most significant impact) and will be presented to the Hall of Fame Nominations Committee, together with relevant statistics and brief commentary.

The Hall of Fame Nominations Committee subsequently convene to select six names to be shortlisted in each of the five eras noted above.

The ICC Hall of Fame Voting Academy, comprising active Hall of Fame members, a FICA representative, prominent cricket journalists and senior ICC figures, vote online to identify their selections for induction in each of the five eras.

For the latest News, Breaking News, Top News, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and YouTube