India vs Pakistan: A History Of Their T20 World Cup Clashes

India and Pakistan have met each other a total of six times in the history of ICC Men's T20 World Cup and India has won five of those matches.

(Photo: Twitter)

New Delhi: India is all set to face Pakistan in their first match of the tournament on October 23, 2022 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground and undoubtedly it is going to be a mouth watering clash between the arch rivals just like it has been on previous occasions. India and Pakistan have met each other a total of six times in the history of ICC Men’s T20 World Cup and India has won five of those matches.

Here is a brief look on each of those matches and how both teams played in those contests.

Durban, South Africa 2007

The first-ever clash between India and Pakistan in the history of the T20 World Cup was during the inaugural edition of the tournament which turned out to be an intense battle as the match went right down to the wire. Rohit Sharma’s half-century, and crucial contributions from then skipper MS Dhoni and Irfan Pathan lower down the order, took India to a fighting total of 141/9.

(Photo: ANI)

Pakistan would have fancied their chances to chase the target down, but the Indian bowlers picked up early wickets. Even though Misbah-ul-Haq looked threatening and he looked like taking the match away from India with a fifty. India held their nerves and the match ended in a tie. But the Men in Blue eventually emerged victorious as they won the bowl-out, a way to break ties in the T20 cricket back in those days.

Johannesburg, South Africa 2007

The arch-rivals met again in the same edition of the tournament, this time it was the big stage, the final, and as expected it turned out to be quite a spectacle as Pakistan fought right until the last over just like the previous occasion. Gautam Gambhir played a magnificent knock of 75 at the top of the order which eventually turned out to be a match defining knock and another good cameo of an unbeaten 30 from Rohit Sharma which ensured that India posted a challenging target of 158 for Pakistan.

(Photo: ICC)

Imran Nazir got Pakistan off to a good start scoring 33 off just 14 deliveries. But the fall of wickets at regular intervals after his run out didn’t help Pakistan’s cause. Misbah-ul-Haq barely kept them alive in the contest taking the match down to the last over, with Pakistan needing 13 runs to win and India needing a wicket. The pressure was straight back on the Men in Blue when he smashed a six off the second delivery of Joginder Sharma in the last over, but he miscued a scoop off the very next ball to hand over an easy catch to Sreesanth at Short fine-leg. With that wicket, Pakistan were all-out and India became the inaugural T20 World Cup Champions.

Colombo, Sri Lanka 2012

India and Pakistan met in the group stages of the 2012 edition for the third time. It turned out to be a one-sided affair this time as Pakistan got bowled out for a small total of 128, with Lakshmipathy Balaji claiming bowling figures of 3/22. Ravichandran Ashwin and Yuvraj Singh also came in handy with the ball as they picked a couple of wickets each. Even though India lost an early wicket of Gautam Gambhir, Virat Kohli took them home safely with an unbeaten knock of 78 off just 61 deliveries. India won the match by eight wickets and 18 deliveries to spare.

Dhaka, Bangladesh 2014

The contest during the group stages of the 2014 edition again turned out to be a one-sided affair. India restricted Pakistan to a paltry total of 130/7. Amit Mishra bowled brilliantly as he bamboozled the Pakistani batters with his wrist-spin, and ended up with the figures of 2/22 in his full quota of overs. India reached the target down comfortably once again, with Kohli and Suresh Raina remaining unbeaten on 36 and 35 respectively. Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma also made crucial contributions of 30 and 24 at the top of the order, as India won by seven wickets with nine balls to spare.

Kolkata, India 2016

India emerged victorious once again in the game which saw 18 overs per side, after rain delayed the start of the game. Pakistan could just manage a total of only 118/5 in their quota of overs as the Indian bowlers bowled tight lines and lengths throughout the innings. India in reply lost both of their openers early, but it was Virat Kohli who rose to the occasion again as he played an unbeaten innings on 55 off just 37 deliveries which turned the match completely in favor of India and took the team home with six wickets and 13 balls to spare.

Dubai, 2021

Pakistan finally broke their losing streak in the T20 World Cup against India as they registered a comprehensive 10-wicket victory against their arch-rivals during their group-stage encounter in Dubai.

(Image: PTI)

Batting first India got off to a difficult start induced by Shaheen Shah Afridi’s new-ball spell, which claimed the wickets of both KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma. Kohli’s fifty and Rishabh Pant’s valuable knock of 39 helped India to a total of 151/7. Pakistan openers Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan’s magnificent batting performance took Pakistan home as they remained unbeaten on 68 and 79 respectively and chased down the target with 13 balls remaining.

ALSO READ: ICC T20 WC 2022: India To Lock Horns Against Pak At MCG On Oct 23