India vs Sri Lanka, 1st ODI: SL Win toss, Opt to Bat first Against IND

India vs Sri Lanka, 1st ODI: SL Win toss, Opt to Bat first Against IND Sri Lanka skipper Dasun Shanaka and India captain Shikhar Dhawan (Photo Credit: Twitter/Sri Lanka cricket)

New Delhi:ย Sri Lanka skipper Dasun Shanaka won the toss and asked Shikhar Dhawan’s Team India to bowl first in the first ODI at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Sunday.

At the toss, Indian captain Shikhar Dhawan revealed that Prithvi Shaw will be partnering him to open the batting for the ‘Men in Blue’ today. Furthermore, the visitors also handed ODI debut caps to young wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan and top-order batsman Suryakumar Yadav.

“We were also looking to bat first as dew factor will come into play. Shaw will open along with me. Kishan and Suryakumar will make their debuts. Kuldeep and Chahal are the two spinners playing for us,” Dhawan said at the toss.

Meanwhile, spin wizards Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav are also part of the bowling unit today against the Lankan batting unit.

For the hosts, Bhanuka Rajapaksa is also earns his debut cap for Sri Lanka as Shanaka’s aims to get off to a positive start in the three-match ODI series.

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka(wk), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan.

India (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan(c), Prithvi Shaw, Ishan Kishan(wk), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav.

For the latest News, Breaking News, Top News, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and YouTube