IPL 2022 Full List Of Award Winners: Orange Cap, Emerging Player, Super Striker And Other Awards

While GT emerged as the winner of IPL 2022 trophy, a plethora of youngsters throughout the season came up with brilliant performances.

GT won the IPL 2022 trophy after defeating RR in final. (Photo: BCCI/IPL)

New Delhi: Bucking all pre-tournament predictions, Gujarat Titans (GT) surprised everyone by lifting the Indian Premier League title in a dream maiden season after a seven-wicket victory over Rajasthan Royals in the final in Ahemdabad on Sunday.

Gujarat’s highly-rated bowling attack, led by skipper Hardik Pandya (3/17) himself, limited a formidable Rajasthan Royals batting unit to 130 for nine after losing the toss. While, Shubman Gill and David Miller remained unbeaten on 45 and 32, respectively, to complete an emphatic win for their team.

It should have been a comfortable chase but Rajasthan bowled their hearts out to make it an interesting final. As they showed all season, Gujarat remained calm in tough situations to finish the chase in 18.1 overs.

Not many gave Gujarat a chance in their first season especially after a mixed auction where they waited till the end to secure the services of wicketkeepers Wriddhiman Saha and Matthew Wade. It was not a team studded with star players but Hardik impressed with his leadership and got the best out of his colleagues.

While GT emerged as the winner of IPL 2022 trophy, a plethora of youngsters throughout the season came up with brilliant performances and garnered the limelight. As Hardik Pandya-led first-timer Gujarat Titans lifted their maiden title on their home ground, the IPL awarded some of the extraordinary players with individual awards.

  • Jos Buttler and Yuzvendra Chahal became the third duo in IPL history to win Orange Cap and Purple Cap respectively from the same franchise.
  • Jos Buttler was awarded as the Powerplayer of the Season and was named the Most Valuable Player of IPL 2022.
  • Rajasthan Royals and Gujarat Titans shared the Fairplay award.
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Dinesh Karthik bagged the ‘Super Striker’ honour as he finished the tournament with a strike rate of 183.33. He also won a TATA Punch car.
  • Umran Malik won the Emerging Player award.
  • Sanju Samson won the runner-up trophy and a cheque worth Rs 12.5 crore.
  • Evin Lewis was honoured was having taken the Perfect Catch of the Season.

ALSO READ: “Coming Generations Will Talk About It”: Hardik Pandya On Gujarat Titans’ IPL Victory