Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Lasith Malinga Announces Retirement from T20 Cricket

Malinga announced his retirement from T20 cricketer on Tuesday.

Former Sri Lanka cricketer Lasith Malinga (Photo Credit: PTI)

New Delhi: Former Sri Lanka pacer and legendary pacer Lasith Malinga has announced his retirement from T20 cricket on Tuesday (September 14). With this, Malinga has now retired from all three formats of the game.

The 2014 T20 World Cup-winning pacer took to social media to officially announce his decision to retire from the shortest format of the game.

Malinga also shared a video on his official YouTube channel, showing a full compilation of his wickets in T20s.

ALSO READ: IPL 2022: BCCI To Hold Auction For Two New Teams On October 17

“While my shoes will rest my love for the game will never rest,” he captioned the video.

“The experience that I have gained through the past 17 years will no longer be needed in the field since I have decided to retire from T20I Cricket marking my retirement from all formats of cricket,” Malinga said.

“But I will be continuously supporting the younger generations who thrives to uplift the spirit of the game and I will always be there with all who love the game,” he added.


Regarded as one of the most fierce pacers in white-ball cricket, the Mumbai Indians (MI) pacer is still the highest wicket-taker in the Indian Premier League (IPL) till now.

ALSO READ: IPL 2021: Kohli’s RCB To Sport Blue Jersey Against KKR To Pay Tribute To Frontline Workers

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The veteran speedster also holders a lot of unique feats for Sri Lanka. Malinga is still the once player to bag five hat-tricks in international cricket.

He is also the only bowler to knock out 4 wickets from 4 consecutive deliveries, twice in international cricket.

You May Also Like


On August 17, the SCC had recommended the names of six judicial officers and one ITAT member for elevation to the bench of Telangana...


The controversial drawing was sketched using charcoal dry pastel and was captioned 'Maa aschen'.


The swearing-in ceremony of new ministers was held at 1.30 pm at the Raj Bhavan in the state capital Gandhinagar on Thursday.


Here's all you need to know if you are unsatisfied with your JEE Mains results.