Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



T20 WC: Pakistan Beat India By 10 Wickets, Registers First Win In T20 World Cup

Shaheen Afridi won the Man of the Match award for his match winning performance, picking 3 wickets for 31 runs.

Pakistan Captain Babar Azam (Photo: Twitter/@ICC)

Dubai: Pakistan beat India by 10 wickets in their opening game of the ICC T20 World Cup at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Pakistan openers Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan scored half centuries scoring 68 and 79 runs respectively as Pakistan ends their losing streak against the Men in Blue in T20 World Cup.

Shaheen Afridi won the Man of the Match award for his match winning performance, picking 3 wickets for 31 runs.

Pakistan didn’t give any chance to Indian bowlers to come on top as the two batsmen dominated the proceedings. Pakistan chased down the target of 152 without losing a wicket as India looked clueless in their opening match

Before this game, Pakistan had failed to beat India in the history of the men’s World Cup but the Babar-led side turned the tables this time around.

Earlier in the match Pakistan won the toss and invited India to bat first. Virat Kohli scored his 29th half century in T20Is as India posted a total of 151/7 in the high voltage match against the arch rivals Pakistan in the ICC T20 World Cup. After losing the openers early in the innings, India found themselves in a spot of bother with 6/2. Soon after the openers were dismissed Suryakumar Yadav lost his wicket after scoring 11 runs and India was reeling at 31/3.

Rishabh Pant then came together with Virat and at the halfway mark, India’s score read 60/3.Pant changed the tempo of India’s innings with two sixes in the 12th over bowled by Hasan Ali and the Men in Blue started to gain some momentum.

However, Pant went for a shot too many and he perished off the bowling of Shadab Khan after playing a knock of 39, reducing India to 84/4 in the 13th over. Kohli brought up his 29th half-century in the 18th over of the innings and he changed his batting gears upon reaching the landmark. Jadeja departed after scoring 13, and Shaheen once again changed the game as he took the key wicket of skipper Kohli (57).

For Pakistan Shaheen Afridi took 3 wickets including Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli. Hasan Ali took 2 and Shadab Khan took 1 wicket.

(With ANI Inputs)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

ALSO READ: T20 WC: ‘Insane’ That Over 1 Billion People Will Watch Ind-Pak Match, Says Warne

You May Also Like


Chief Minister Bommai issued strict instructions as he ordered rigorous testing at the airport and postponed all cultural activities at colleges and educational institutions...


Amid reports of at least 10 South African travellers missing, the state government directed officials to look into it, trace them and get them...


The first two cases of Omicron strain were confirmed in two individuals in Karnataka.


India lost Saha and Ashwin off successive balls early in the morning session before Mayank Agarwal and Axar Patel took the score past 300-run...