Oscars 2021: See the list of winners and nominations

April 26, 2021 | Updated 10:37 am

Oscars 2021: See the list of winners and nominations Representative image

Below is the full list of 2021 Academy Award winners, who won the Oscars for the year 2021. The list also contains the nominations which made it to the final round.

Actor in a Leading Role

Winner: Anthony Hopkins (The Father)


Riz Ahmed (Sound of Metal)
Chadwick Boseman (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)
Gary Oldman (Mank)
Steven Yeun (Minari)

Actress in a Leading Role

Winner: Frances McDormand (Nomadland)


Viola Davis (Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom)
Andra Day (The United States Vs. Billie Holiday)
Vanessa Kirby (Pieces of a Woman)
Carey Mulligan (Promising Young Woman)

Best Picture

Winner: Nomadland


The Father
Judas and the Black Messiah
Promising Young Woman
Sound of Metal
The Trial of the Chicago 7

Visual Effects

Winner: Tenet (Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley and Scott Fisher)


Love and Monsters (Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt and Brian Cox)
The Midnight Sky (Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon and David Watkins)
Mulan (Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Maury and Steve Ingram)
The One and Only Ivan (Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones and Santiago Colomo Martinez)

Documentary (Feature)

Winner: My Octopus Teacher (Pippa Ehrlich, James Reed and Craig Foster)


Collective (Alexander Nanau and Bianca Oana)
Crip Camp (Nicole Newnham, Jim Lebrecht and Sara Bolder)
The Mole Agent (Maite Alberdi and Marcela Santibáñez)
Time (Garrett Bradley, Lauren Domino and Kellen Quinn)

Documentary (Short Subject)

Winner: Colette (Anthony Giacchino and Alice Doyard)


A Concerto Is a Conversation (Ben Proudfoot and Kris Bowers)
Do Not Split (Anders Hammer and Charlotte Cook)
Hunger Ward (Skye Fitzgerald and Michael Scheuerman)
A Love Song for Latasha (Sophia Nahli Allison and Janice Duncan)

Film Editing

Winner:Sound of Metal (Mikkel E. G. Nielsen)


The Father (Yorgos Lamprinos)
Nomadland (Chloé Zhao)
Promising Young Woman (Frédéric Thoraval)
The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Alan Baumgarten)


WinnerMank (Erik Messerschmidt)


Judas and the Black Messiah (Sean Bobbitt)
News of the World (Dariusz Wolski)
Nomadland (Joshua James Richards)
The Trial of the Chicago 7 (Phedon Papamichael)

Production Design

Winner: Mank (Production Design: Donald Graham Burt; Set Decoration: Jan Pascale)


The Father (Production Design: Peter Francis; Set Decoration: Cathy Featherstone)
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Production Design: Mark Ricker; Set Decoration: Karen O’hara and Diana Stoughton)
News of the World (Production Design: David Crank; Set Decoration: Elizabeth Keenan)
Tenet (Production Design: Nathan Crowley; Set Decoration: Kathy Lucas)

Actress in a Supporting Role

Winner: Yuh-Jung Youn (Minari)


Maria Bakalova (Borat Subsequent Moviefilm: Delivery Of Prodigious Bribe To American Regime For Make Benefit Once Glorious Nation Of Kazakhstan)
Glenn Close (Hillbilly Elegy)
Olivia Colman (The Father)
Amanda Seyfried (Mank)

Animated Feature Film

Winner: Soul


Over the Moon
A Shaun The Sheep Movie: Farmageddon

Short Film (Animated)

Winner: If Anything Happens I Love You


Genius Loci

Short Film (Live Action)

Winner: Two Distant Strangers


Feeling Through
The Letter Room
The Present
White Eye


Winner: Sound of Metal (Nicolas Becker, Jaime Baksht, Michellee Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés and Phillip Bladh)


Greyhound (Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders and David Wyman)
Mank (Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance and Drew Kunin)
News of the World (Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller and John Pritchett)
Soul (Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott and David Parker)


Winner: Nomadland (Chloé Zhao)


Another Round (Thomas Vinterberg)
Mank (David Fincher)
Minari (Lee Isaac Chung)
Promising Young Woman (Emerald Fennell)

Costume Design

Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Ann Roth)


Emma (Alexandra Byrne)
Mank (Trish Summerville)
Mulan (Bina Daigeler)
Pinocchio (Massimo Cantini Parrini)

Makeup and Hairstyling

Winner: Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom (Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal and Jamika Wilson)


Emma (Marese Langan, Laura Allen and Claudia Stolze)
Hillbilly Elegy (Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle and Patricia Dehaney)
Mank (Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spiteri and Colleen Labaff)
Pinocchio (Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli and Francesco Pegoretti)

Actor in a Supporting Role

Winner: Daniel Kaluuya (Judas and the Black Messiah)


Sacha Baron Cohen (The Trial of the Chicago 7)
Leslie Odom, Jr. (One Night in Miami…)
Paul Raci (Sound of Metal)
LaKeith Stanfield (Judas and the Black Messiah)

International Feature Film

WinnerAnother Round (Denmark)


Better Days (Hong Kong)
Collective (Romania)
The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia)
Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

Winner: The Father (Screenplay by Christopher Hampton and Florian Zeller)


Borat Subsequent Moviefilm: Delivery of Prodigious Bribe to American Regime for Make Benefit Once Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan (Screenplay by Sacha Baron Cohen & Anthony Hines & Dan Swimer & Peter Baynham & Erica Rivinoja & Dan Mazer & Jena Friedman & Lee Kern; Story by Sacha Baron Cohen & Anthony Hines & Dan Swimer & Nina Pedrad)
Nomadland (Written for the screen by Chloé Zhao)
One Night In Miami… (Screenplay by Kemp Powers)
The White Tiger (Written for the screen by Ramin Bahrani)