Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



17 new ministers inducted in CM Nitish Kumar’s cabinet in Bihar

A total of 9 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders and 8 members from Janata Dal (United) were inducted in Bihar cabinet on Tuesday (February 9).

Bihar CM Nitish Kumar (Image Courtesy Twitter)

A total of 17 ministers took oath on Tuesday (February 9), which included 9 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leaders and 8 members from Janata Dal (United) JD(U) as Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Singh expanded his cabinet on Tuesday. One independant candidate also took a seat at Chief Minsiter Nitish Kumar’s cabinet on Tuesday.

Shahnawaz Hussain (BJP): The induction of BJP National spokesman Shahnawaz Hussain marks the return of a familiar Muslim face in the state cabinet. Hussain has been key to improving relations between BJP and JD (U) during the state Assembly poll in 2020.

Shrawan Kumar (JDU): Shrawan Kumar, a close aide of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and JDU MLA from Nalanda, was included in the Nitish cabinet again today. He has been winning the Nalanda Legislative Assembly seat continuously since 1995 and was previously the Minister for Rural Development in Bihar.

Madan Sahni (JDU): The Bahadurpur MLA won the seat by a margin of 68,538 votes defeating Rashtriya Janata Dal candidate Ramesh Choudhary.

Pramod Kumar (BJP):  BJP’s Pramod Kumar who previously held the ministerial portfolio of Art, culture and youth affairs, won against RJD’s Om Prakash Choudhary in the previous assembly poll and won for the fifth time. Pramod Kumar has been winning continuously from this BJP stronghold.

Sanjay Kumar Jha (BJP): The member of the National Executive of BJP Youth Wing, Sanjay Kumar Jha who has been working since 1992, will also be a part of Nitish’s cabinet. He has been running publications in which a variety of political and competition-related books have been edited and published by him.

Leshi Singh (JDU): Leshi Singh is a JDU member of the Legislative Assembly from the Dhamdaha seat in Bihar who has worked as a cabinet minister with CM Nitish Kumar and is the president of Bihar state women commission.

Samrat Chaudhary (BJP):  BJP’s MLC Samrat Chaudhary was also included in Bihar’s cabinet on Tuesday who hails from the Kushwaha community in the state. Chaudhary has previously served as a minister in Rabri Devi, Lalu Prasad Yadav and Jeetan Ram Manjhi’s cabinet.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Neeraj Kumar Singh (BJP): Neeraj Kumar Singh represents Chhatapur in Supaul district of Bihar, and is a cousin brother of late Bollywood actor Sushant Singh Rajput.

Subhash Singh (BJP): BJP MLA Subhash Singh who won the Gopalganj seat with a margin of 77,791 votes have taken his seat in the Bihar cabinet on Tuesday (Feb 8). He and his supporters were attacked by unknown miscreants in Bihar’s Gopalganj, before the state assembly poll on Oct 23, 2020.

Nitin Navin (BJP): The son of veteran BJP leader Nabin Kishore Sinha, Nitin Navin who has been an MLA from Bankipur four times will now sit in the Bihar cabinet. In the 2020 Bihar Legislative elections, Nitin won with more than 84,000 votes from Bankipur.

Sumit Kumar Singh (Independent): Sumit Kumar Singh is the lone Independent candidate to enter Bihar cabinet who won the seat from Chakai constituency.

Sunil Kumar (JDU): Former IPS officer Sunil Kumar, who won from the Bhore assembly constituency will also take his place in the state cabinet. Sunil Kumar is the younger brother of Congress’s Bhore (Gopalganj) MLA Anil Kumar, and was seen close to both JD(U)’s Nitish Kumar as well as Lalu Prasad Yadav while he served as Additional Director General of Police in Bihar.

Narayan Prasad (BJP): Controversial  BJP legislator Narayan Prasad who won the Nautan seat by 78,657 votes will also occupy a seat in Nitish Kumar’s cabinet.

Jayant Raj (JDU): Jayant Raj of JD (U), who defeated Jitendra Singh of the Congress party by a margin on more than 3000 votes in the Amarpur assembly seat will also take a seat in Bihar cabinet.

Alok Ranjan (BJP): Alok Ranjan who won by 1,03,538 votes in Saharsa defeating Lovely Anand, wife of Anand Mohan from Saharsa, will also become a part of Bihar cabinet. The seat has been important for BJP as Prime Miniter Narendra Modi also held an election rally from the constituency.

Mohammad Jama Khan (JDU): Former MLA from Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party in Bihar who joined the Janata Dal-United on January 22. Mohammad Jama Khan won from the Chandpur assembly constituency in Kaimur district in the last assembly polls.

Janak Ram (BJP): He is a member of parliament from the Gopalganj constituency. He won the Indian general election, 2014 as a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate and is currently was serving as the national Vice President of BJP’s Dalit Cell.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


Kohli only opted to relinquish from T20 leadership and ignored Shastri’s advice of also leaving the ODI captaincy.


While the UK has approved Covishield, it has raised concerns over 'vaccine certification' in India.


Amarinder Singh also took on the newly elected chief minister, Charanjit Singh Channi, and questioned his promises of free water and power to the...


Chief Justice N.V. Ramana has made strong observations about how the sedition law is being misused to curtail free speech, but the Supreme Court...