7-Day Home Quarantine Mandatory For All International Travellers Arriving In India From Today; Details Here

The travellers will have to undergo mandatory home quarantine for seven days and undertake an RT-PCR test on the eighth day of their arrival.

Passengers wait for taxis outside the T-3 terminal of Indira Gandhi International Airport, in New Delhi, Thursday, Jan 6, 2022. (PTI Photo/Arun Sharma)

New Delhi: As new rules for international passengers travelling to India come into effect from Tuesday, all international arrivals in the country will now have to undergo mandatory home isolation for a week starting today, January 11. The central government announced the revised guidelines for international travellers to slow the further import of the Omicron variant of coronavirus in the country.

As per the guidelines, the travellers have to undergo home quarantine for seven days and undertake an RT-PCR test on the eighth day of their arrival. Children under the age of five years are exempted from both the pre and post-arrival testing, however, they have to undertake the test if found symptomatic for COVID-19 infection on arrival or during the home isolation period.

ALSO READ: Arvind Kejriwal To Address Press Conference On Covid At 12 Noon Today

Here are the detailed guidelines of the government for international passengers: 

  1. As suggested by the government, international passengers need to submit a self-declaration form on the online Air Suvidha portal and upload a negative COVID-19 RT-PCR report, conducted within 72 hours, prior to undertaking their journey to India.

  2. As per the order, all travellers will undergo home quarantine for seven days and will again be required to upload results of repeat RT-PCR test for COVID-19 done on the eighth day on Air Suvidha portal (to be monitored by the respective States and union territories. 

  3. Passengers detected symptomatic during the screening shall be immediately isolated and taken to a medical facility as advised. If tested positive, their contacts shall also be identified and managed as per the protocol.

  4. Passengers coming from ‘at-risk’ countries will mandatorily undergo testing on arrival. They will be required to wait for their test results at the arrival before leaving or taking a connecting flight.

  5. The list of ‘at-risk’ countries is also revised. The countries currently in the list are: South Africa, countries in Europe including the United Kingdom, Brazil, Botswana, China, Ghana, Mauritius, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Hong Kong, Israel, Congo, Ethiopia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Nigeria, Tunisia, Zambia.

  6. As per the guidelines, international travellers arriving through seaports will also have to undergo the same protocol. 

ALSO READ: Pfizer Claims Omicron Vaccine Will Be Ready By March