Centre Takes Over 107 Irrigation Projects on Krishna, Godavari Rivers Amid Andhra vs Telangana

Centre Takes Over 107 Irrigation Projects on Krishna, Godavari Rivers Amid Andhra vs Telangana Polavaram Spillway on Godavari river which is under construction will also come under water board. (Source: Megha Engineering and Infrastructures Limited (MEIL))

New Delhi: The Ministry of Jal Shakti on Thursday released a gazette notification for river projects over Krishna and Godavari in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, effectively bringing them into the purview of Krishna and Godavari Water Boards.

“Seven years after the bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana and two days after the AP government knocked on the doors of the Supreme Court seeking directions to the Centre to take over the control of common reservoirs on River Krishna, the Ministry of Jal Shakti (MoJS) issued gazette notification defining the jurisdiction of the Krishna River Management Board (KRMB) and the Godavari River Management Board (GRMB) late Thursday night,” the notification read.

READ MORE: Krishna River Row: Andhra CM Asserts ‘Will Claim Our Rightful Share of Water’

The notification which will come into effect from October 14, added that all the projects allotted by the Bachawat Tribunal are under the purview of the Krishna Board.

The ministry has brought 36 projects on the Krishna River and 71 projects on the Godavari under the purview of the Board.

Each state will need to deposit Rs 200 crore per board, and the seed money must be deposited within 60 days from the day the notification comes into effect.

READ ALSO: Andhra CM Jagan Seeks Centre’s Intervention In Water Row With Telangana

In order to keep the project development and decision-making unbiased, the chairmen to Boards, Member Secretary, Chief Engineers will all come from other states. These Boards will take care of all project management processes, and will oversee water and power generation from them.

Unauthorized projects will be required to be approved within six months, and if they fail to do so, the projects will be stopped if permissions are not obtained in the required time period.

The states will bear the operational expenses, which must be paid within 15 days of request.

The Notification adds that these boards will maintain jurisdiction over common projects like Srisailam Project, Nagarjuna Sagar Project, Tungabhadra Project (which is shared between AP, Telangana and Karnataka), Pulichintala
Project Reservoir and reconstruction of Muniyeru Project.

For the latest News, Breaking News, Top News, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and YouTube