Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Bhupendra Patel Takes Oath As New Gujarat Chief Minister; Amit Shah, Khattar, Shivraj Attend

Bhupendra Patel won his seat by a margin of 1,17,000 votes against Shashikant Patel in 2017, which was the largest margin in that poll. The Ghatlodiya constituency was earlier held by Anandiben Patel.

Bhupendra Patel takes oath as the Chief Minister of Gujarat. (Image: Twitter/ @CMOGuj)

New Delhi: Bhupendra Patel was sworn-in as the new Gujarat Chief Minister on Monday (September 13) afternoon. Gujarat Governor Acharya Devvrat administered the oath of office and secrecy to Patel. Union Home Minister Amit Shah was also present at the swearing-in ceremony.

Chief ministers of other BJP ruled states, including Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar, Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Goa CM Pramod Sawant also attended the ceremony.

This comes two days after Vijay Rupani resigned from the top post in the state months before the Assembly polls scheduled for December 2022.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday congratulated Bhupendra Patel on taking oath as the new chief minister of Gujarat while lauding his predecessor Vijay Rupani for his people-friendly measures.

In a tweet, PM Modi said Patel will certainly enrich Gujarat’s growth trajectory.

“Congratulations to Bhupendra Bhai on taking oath as CM of Gujarat. I have known him for years and have seen his exemplary work, be it in the BJP Organisation or in civic administration and community service. He will certainly enrich Gujarat’s growth trajectory. @Bhupendrapbjp,” tweeted PM Modi.

Praising the former Chief Minister, PM Modi said he is certain that Rupani will continue to contribute to public service in the times to come.

“I have conveyed my congratulations to him (Bhupendra Patel). I have full faith that under his leadership, the party will move forward, as will the development of the state. Gujarat will become a role model for all states,” said former Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani.

Bhupendra Patel assumed charge of the office later in the day.

It is believed that Patel holds a strong influence in the Patidar community in Gujarat which the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) has banked upon to win the upcoming polls. With Vijay Rupani’s resignation on September 11 as the Chief Minister, he became the fourth CM in the BJP-led state government in India this year to opt for this move.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Bhupendra Patel won his seat by a margin of 1,17,000 votes against Shashikant Patel in 2017, which was the largest margin in that poll. The Ghatlodiya constituency was earlier held by Anandiben Patel.

ALSO READ | Who Is Bhupendra Patel, The New Gujarat CM

BJP again picked a surprise choice as it had done in Karnataka and Uttarakhand, where the party named Basavraj Bommai and Pushkar Dhami over senior leaders.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah is received by newly elected Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel in Gandhinagar. (Image: Twitter/ @Bhupendrapbjp)

The Bharatiya Janata Party has decided to reach out to its core vote bank in Patel community by deciding to nominate a Patidar leader in Bhupendra Patel as chief minister. His name was proposed by outgoing CM Vijay Rupani.

ALSO READ | ‘With Bhupendra Patel At The Helm, BJP Sure To Retain Power’: Party Leaders Welcome New Gujarat CM

Union Minister and BJP’s central observer for Gujarat, Narendra Singh Tomar and party’s National General Secretary, Tarun Chugh reached Gandhinagar on Sunday along with Union Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Pralhad Joshi, BJP’s general secretary (organisation) BL Santhosh and Union Cabinet Minister for Environment Bhupendra Yadav for the legislature party meet.

Vijay Rupani, who stepped down from the post on Saturday, had said he will continue to serve the party under the national leadership.

You May Also Like


On August 17, the SCC had recommended the names of six judicial officers and one ITAT member for elevation to the bench of Telangana...


The controversial drawing was sketched using charcoal dry pastel and was captioned 'Maa aschen'.


The swearing-in ceremony of new ministers was held at 1.30 pm at the Raj Bhavan in the state capital Gandhinagar on Thursday.


Here's all you need to know if you are unsatisfied with your JEE Mains results.