Bihar CM Nitish Kumar Expands Cabinet, Inducts 31 Ministers, Mostly From RJD

The list of of 31 ministers in Bihar Ministry includes, 16 from RJD, 11 from JDU, 2 from Congress, 1 from independent and 1 from Ham.

Nitish Kumar took oath as chief minister along with Tejashwi Yadav earlier this month. (Photo: PTI)

New Delhi: As many as 31 ministers have been inducted in Bihar Ministry from CM Nitish Kumar led Janata Dal (United) and his deputy Tejashwi Yadav led Rashtriya Janata Dal on Tuesday. The RJD gets highest ministerial berths with 16 and JDU keeps 11.

The list of of 31 ministers in Bihar Ministry includes, 16 from RJD, 11 from JDU, 2 from Congress, 1 from independent and 1 from Ham.

Here is the list of ministers inducted in Bihar Ministry:

MLAs from RJD quota: Tej Pratap Yadav, Alok Mehta, Anita Devi, Surendra Yadav, Chandrasekhar, Israil Mansoori, Lalit Yadav, Ramanand Yadav, Sudhakar Singh, Kumar Sarbjit, Surendra Ram, Shahnawaz, Mohd. Shamim, Sameer Mahaseth, Jitendra Rai, Master Kartik.

MLAs from JDU quota: Vijay Choudhary, Bijendra Yadav, Ashok Choudhary, Sheela Mandal, Shravan Kumar, Sanjay Jha, Leshi Singh, Jama Khan, Jayant Raj, Madan Sahni, Sunil Kumar.

MLAs from Congress quota: Afaq Alam, Murari Gautam. One from Jitin Ram Manjhi’s Hindustani Awam Morcha and the lone Independent MLA, Sumit Kumar Singh, also took oath as cabinet ministers.

The new Ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Bihar Governor Phagu Chauhan at Raj Bhavan here. The RJD got 16 ministerial berths and the Janata Dal (United) 11.

The Bihar cabinet can have up to 36 ministers, including the Chief Minister. Some ministerial berths will be kept vacant for future cabinet expansion, sources said.

Nitish Kumar had broken away from the BJP and formed a government with the RJD and other parties earlier this month. The Chief Minister and his deputy – RJD’s Tejashwi Yadav – took oath on August 10.

The Bihar Grand Alliance has a combined strength of 163. Its effective strength climbed to 164 after Independent MLA Sumit Kumar Singh extended its support to Nitish Kumar. The new government is likely to prove majority in the Bihar assembly on August 24.

The BJP’s central leadership will hold a meeting with the party’s Bihar unit leaders here on Tuesday, days after the JD(U) parted ways with it and formed a new government in the state.

They are likely to deliberate upon the BJP’s future course of action, and the strategy for the 2024 Lok Sabha polls, sources said, adding organisational changes may also come up for discussion. The meeting will be chaired by BJP national president Jagat Prakash Nadda and the general secretary (organisation) BL Santhosh will also be present.

The 2020 Assembly polls in Bihar was a tight one with the National Democratic Alliance winning 125 seats, with BJP winning 74 of these, the Janata Dal (United) of Nitish Kumar 43, the Vikassheel Insaan Party 4 and Hindustan Awaam Party (Secular) 4. This put the NDA just above the requisite 122-majority mark needed to form the government.

The RJD and its allies, on the other hand, had won 110 seats. The RJD finished as the single-largest party with 75 seats, while the Congress won a mere 19 seats.

Of the 29 seats the Left parties had contested, they won in 16, with the CPI (ML-Liberation) winning 12 of them. Asaduddin Owaisi’s AIMIM had won five seats in the Seemanchal region of the state. Four of its MLAs have switched to the RJD.

(With ANI Inputs)