Bihar Trust Vote: Nitish Kumar Govt Wins Floor Test, New Speaker To Be Elected On Aug 26

The Nitish Kumar- led “Mahagathbandhan” alliance is all set to face a floor test in the Bihar Legislative Assembly today where it will prove its majority.

Nitish Kumar
Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar speaks in the Legislative Assembly on Wednesday, August 24, 2022.

New Delhi: The mahagathbandhan government, led by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar and Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav, won the trust vote in the Bihar Assembly on Wednesday. Meanwhile, the Opposition led by BJP staged a walkout from the Assembly.

Earlier today, BJP’s Vijay Kumar Sinha resigned as the Speaker of the Bihar Assembly ahead of the floor test to prove the majority of the mahagathbandhan or the ‘Grand Alliance’ government. Sinha’s resignation came after a no-confidence motion against him was moved by the MLAs of the ruling coalition.

Bihar Floor Test: Top Developments

The election for Bihar Assembly Speaker will take place on August 26, Deputy Speaker Maheshwar Hazari announced.

Targetting the BJP leaders, Kumar said, “You (BJP MLAs) are all running away? You will only get a position in your party if you say things against me. You all must have got orders from your superior bosses.”

Kumar expressed the resolve of the ‘Grand Alliance’, comprising of JDU, RJD, Congress, HAM and the Left, to work for the development of the state. “We have taken the pledge to work together for the development of Bihar,” he said.

Further, giving a call for uniting against the BJP-led NDA for the next general elections, Kumar said, “Leaders from across the country called me and congratulated me on this decision and I urged all of them to fight together in the 2024 elections.”

“In 2017, when I demanded central status for Patna University, no one paid attention to it. Now you (Central govt) will do the same to advertise your work. They have control over social media and press. Everyone is discussing only Centre’s work,” says Nitish Kumar.

“Don’t just talk about 2020 Assembly polls, recall elections of past when JD(U) won more seats than BJP,” says Bihar CM Nitish Kumar in Assembly.

Gurugram mall raided by CBI not mine, it was inaugurated by BJP MP, alleges Bihar deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav

Wherever BJP is not in power, it sends its three “jamai” (sons-in-law) — ED, CBI and IT: Bihar Deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav in Assembly

A floor test to prove the majority of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar-led government began in the Bihar Legislative Assembly on Wednesday.

“According to rules, after the resignation of the Speaker, all the work of the Assembly will be handled by the Deputy Speaker,” said Maheshwar Hazari, the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly.

Proceedings of the Bihar Legislative Assembly have been adjourned till 2 pm. Maheshwar Hazari, the Deputy Speaker of the Assembly will handle the further proceedings.

JD(U)’s Narendra Narayan Yadav, whose name was recommended by Sinha will chair the floor test now.

Vijay Kumar Sinha resigns as the Speaker of the Bihar Assembly. “Bowing before majority, I resign as speaker, says Vijay Kumar Sinha inside Bihar Assembly,” he said.

“The Chair is ‘Panch Parmeshwar’. What message do you want to give by casting suspicions on the Chair? People will make a decision,” said the Bihar Assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Sinha, in the House as he spoke on the No Confidence Motion against him.

ALSO READ: CBI Raids Residence Of RJD MLC Sunil Singh In Patna Ahead Of Trust Vote In Bihar Assembly

Bihar Assembly Speaker Vijay Kumar Sinha said that the allegations against him were unacceptable and thus he decided not to step down without setting record straight.

BJP MLAs protested outside Bihar Assembly ahead of Floor Test of Nitish Kumar-led govt today. Ex-Deputy Chief Minister Tarkishore Prasad said, “We’ve come here for the Assembly Session…As far as raids are concerned, it’s an independent agency doing its work. I won’t make a comment on it.”

The Central Bureau of Investigation on Wednesday raided the residences of leaders of the Rashtriya Janta Dal reportedly in connection with the “land for jobs” scam. The raids were conducted at the properties linked to RJD MLC Sunil Singh and three MPs Ashfaque Karim, Faiyaz Ahmed and Subodh Roy.

The RJD has questioned the timing of the raids on the day when newly formed Bihar government faces a trust vote on the floor of the Vidhan Sabha. Manoj Jha, RJD MP said the raids were done on purpose to intimidate the party’s legislators.

“It is being done intentionally. There is no meaning to it. They are doing it thinking that out of fear, MLAs will come in their favour,” said Singh, RJD MLC and Chairman of Bihar state co-operative marketing union ltd. (BISCOMAUN) whose house was raided today.

In the 243-member Bihar Vidhan Sabha, the majority number is 122.

Nitish Kumar joined hands with ‘Mahagathbandhan’ earlier in August after breaking ties with the Bharatiya Janata Party and took oath as Bihar CM for the 8th time. Tejashwi Yadav was sworn-in as his deputy.

The ‘Mahagathbandhan’, which comprises the chief minister’s JD(U), besides RJD, Congress, CPI(ML), CPI and CPI(M), has a combined strength of more than 160 in the 243-strong House. As such, there is little to worry for the new coalition which can proceed to prove its majority on the floor.

With Agencies Inputs.