Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Home » India » Yogi Adityanath To Contest From Gorakhpur Seat, BJP Drops 20 Sitting MLAs In Its First List


Yogi Adityanath To Contest From Gorakhpur Seat, BJP Drops 20 Sitting MLAs In Its First List

Yogi Adityanath launches 'free laptops, smartphones distribution scheme' for youths in UP (Image: ANI)
File Photo of Yogi Adityanath (Image: ANI)

BJP has released the first list of candidates for Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections on Saturday. The list was released by union minister Dharmendra Pradhan and BJP national general secretary Arun Singh at the press conference in New Delhi. 

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will contest from Gorakhpur seat, while state Deputy CM Keshav Prasad Maurya will contest from Sirathu in Prayagraj district.  

BJP on Saturday announced the list of candidates on 57 out of the 58 seats for the first phase and 38 candidates out of the 55 seats in the second phase for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections.

The party in the first list announced today has dropped at least 20 of its sitting MLAs, while has retained 63 of its sitting candidates for the state Assembly elections. With 20 new faces, BJP has named 107 candidates in total for the first two phases.

The polling for the Gorakhpur (Urban) seat, which is the Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath’s stronghold will take place on March 3. The constituency has voted him to the Lok Sabha for five straight terms till 2017.

Speaking on CM Yogi contesting from Gorakhpur seat, Union minister Dharmendra Pradhan said that the decision has been made after much deliberation and the final decision was taken by the top leaders of the party.

Earlier, it was much speculated that the Chief Minister, who has never contested in Assembly election before, would contest from one of two cities of Uttar Pradesh – Ayodhya or Mathura.

Contesting from Gorakhpur seat, Yogi will become the first Chief Minister of the state in 15 years to seek people’s mandate by contesting Assembly elections, while former CM’s Mayawati and Akhilesh were both members of Legislative Council.

ALSO READ: Assembly Elections 2022 LIVE: BJP Announces First List Of Candidates For Uttar Pradesh Polls

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Read Full Article



India celebrated the 125th birth anniversary of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose today. On this occasion, PM Narendra Modi unveiled a hologram statue of the...


Thounaojam Niranjoy Singh has created a new Guinness World Record for most push-ups in a minute. The 24-year-old did 109 push-ups in a minute....


A new study analyses how students learn when they double the speed of class videos.


The expedition will inspire and motivate women of all age groups to include fitness activities in their daily lives to stay healthy.


As we all continue to deal with the pandemic, let’s pause and consider one of the reactions many of us have had: seeking out...

You May Also Like


The charges spell that Mustafa was booked for promoting enmity between different groups on grounds of religion, race and others.


On January 21, Meat Loaf's official Facebook page confirmed that the singer had passed away but did not reveal his cause of death. He...


Ladki hoon, lad sakti hoon(I am a girl, I can fight) PRIYANKA Gandhi Vadra coined the slogan to cultivate a separate constituency of women...


Fever, one of the most common symptoms of Covid-19, has pushed sales of this oval-shaped white pill to treble in the last two years.