Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



BJP MLAs Meet to Elect 3rd Uttarakhand CM in Four Months After Tirath Singh Rawat’s Resignation

New Delhi: Uttarakhand Chief Minister Tirath Singh Rawat has resigned from his post on Friday just few months after taking charge.

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Tirath Singh Rawat (Photo Credit: Tirath Singh Rawat Facebook)

New Delhi: BJP MLAs from Uttarakhand are meeting in Dehradun to elect a new Chief Minister after the resignation of Tirath Singh Rawat. The BJP legislature party meeting will begin at 3 pm under the chairmanship of state president Madan Kaushik.

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Tirath Singh Rawat resigned from his post on Friday just a few months after taking charge.

Rawat handed in his resignation to Governor Baby Rani Maurya just hours after he addressed a press conference.

A meeting of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) legislature party is now set to take place on July 3 in Dehradun.

The above-mentioned resignation came less than four months after Tirath Singh Rawat took charge as the Uttarakhand Chief Minister, replacing Trivendra Singh Rawat.

ALSO READ: ED Attaches Assets of Ahmed Patel’s Son-in-Law, Dino Morea, DJ Aqeel in Sterling Biotech Case

Tirath Singh Rawat is MP from Garhwal.

This resignation also came ahead of uncertainty over bypolls in Uttarakhand, which is scheduled to face assembly elections early next year.

Tirath Singh Rawat, who took over as CM on March 10 this year, had to be elected to the state assembly within six months but there is no certainty over bypolls being held which led to political uncertainty in the state.

Apart from the norms about not holding bypolls within six months of assembly polls, the situation due to COVID-19 was also an apparent factor in the decision regarding bypolls.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The BJP is now expected to be led by a new leader in the assembly polls and the state is likely to get its third chief minister in nearly four months.

ALSO READ: Andhra CM Jagan Seeks Centre’s Intervention In Water Row With Telangana

Uttrakhand’s media in-charge Manveer Singh Chauhan said that the meeting of party MLAs will be held under the chairmanship of state president Madan Kaushik.

“BJP legislature party meeting is scheduled to be held at 3 pm tomorrow at the party headquarters. The meeting will be held under the chairmanship of state president Madan Kaushik,” Chauhan said.

BJP has named Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar as a central observer for Saturday’s meeting of MLAs.

Earlier in the day, Tirath Singh Rawat was in Delhi to meet the BJP central leadership.


(With ANI Inputs)

You May Also Like


Kohli only opted to relinquish from T20 leadership and ignored Shastri’s advice of also leaving the ODI captaincy.


While the UK has approved Covishield, it has raised concerns over 'vaccine certification' in India.


Amarinder Singh also took on the newly elected chief minister, Charanjit Singh Channi, and questioned his promises of free water and power to the...


Chief Justice N.V. Ramana has made strong observations about how the sedition law is being misused to curtail free speech, but the Supreme Court...