Bypolls 2022 Live: 43.75% Voter Turnout In Rajinder Nagar Bypoll In Delhi

The polling began at 8 AM and will continue till 6 PM amid tight security, officials said, adding the counting of votes will be taken up on June 26.

AAP Rajya Sabha MP Raghav Chadha casts his vote for Rajinder Nagar assembly by-poll. (Photo/ANI)

Chandigarh: Voting began Thursday morning for the bypoll to three Lok Sabha and seven assembly seats across five states and one union territory.

The three Lok Sabha seats are Azamgarh and Rampur in Uttar Pradesh, and Sangrur in Punjab. The seven assembly seats are Rajinder Nagar in Delhi, Mandar in Jharkhand, Atmakur in Andhra Pradesh and Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma and Jabarajnagar in Tripura. The counting of votes will take place on June 26.

Here are the live updates:

43.75 pc voter turnout in Rajinder Nagar by-poll in Delhi

-Voter Turnout Till 3 PM

-Jharkhand: 56.03 per cent turnout till 3 PM in Mandar assembly by-poll

-33.4 per cent polling recorded till 3 pm in Rajinder Nagar bypoll

Voter Turnout till 1 PM

44.14% voter turnout recorded in Atmakur (Andhra Pradesh)
54.20% in Agartala (Tripura)
52.16% in Town Bardowali (Tripura)
53.50% in Surma (Tripura)
46.56% in Jubarajnagar (Tripura)
44.81% in Mandar (Jharkhand)
26.24% in Rajinder Nagar (Delhi)

Voter Turnout till 11 AM

Till 11 am, 12.75% voter turnout recorded in Sangrur (Punjab), 18.81% in Rampur (Uttar Pradesh), 19.84% in Azamgarh (Uttar Pradesh). 14.85 pc polling in first four hours in Rajinder Nagar (Delhi).

– Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) Rajya Sabha MP Raghav Chadha on Thursday cast his vote for the Rajinder Nagar assembly by-poll and said the people will vote to get corruption-free governance.

– 4.07% voter turnout recorded in Sangrur (Punjab).

– Tripura | People queue up to cast their votes in the assembly by-poll in the state. Visuals from West Radhapur High School in Jubarajnagar.

– Punjab | Voters queue up outside a polling booth in Barnala to cast their votes on Sangrur Lok Sabha seat vacated by AAP’s Bhagwant Mann after becoming Punjab CM.

Voter turnout till 9 AM

11.56% voter turnout recorded in Atmakur (Andhra Pradesh), 15.29% in Agartala (Tripura), 16.25% in Town Bardowali (Tripura), 13% in Surma (Tripura), 14% in Jubarajnagar (Tripura), 13.49% in Mandar (Jharkhand) 5.20% in Rajinder Nagar (Delhi).


The polling began at 8 AM and will continue till 6 PM amid tight security, officials said, adding the counting of votes will be taken up on June 26. There are 15,69,240 eligible voters — 8,30,056 men, 7,39,140 women and 44 from transgender community — in the Sangrur parliamentary constituency. A total of 16 candidates, including three women, are in the fray.

The main opposition Congress has fielded former Dhuri MLA Dalvir Singh Goldy in the bypoll while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has made former Barnala MLA Kewal Dhillon its candidate, who joined the saffron party on June 4.

Kamaldeep Kaur, the sister of Balwant Singh Rajoana, a convict in former Punjab chief minister Beant Singh’s assassination case, has been fielded by the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD). Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar) chief Simranjit Singh Mann is also in the fray.

New Delhi

Voting began for the bypoll to Rajinder Nagar in Delhi, largely being seen as a battle between a confident AAP and a spirited BJP for the crucial assembly constituency. A total of 1,64,698 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise in the bye-election, in which 14 candidates are in the fray.

The two major contenders — the AAP and the BJP have exuded confidence that their candidates will emerge victorious in the bypoll with a huge margin.Polling began at 7 AM amid tight security arrangements and is scheduled to be held till 6 PM.

Uttar Pradesh

Polling began in Uttar Pradesh’s Azamgarh and Rampur, the Lok Sabha seats considered as the bastions of the Opposition Samajwadi Party in the state. Over 35 lakh people are eligible to vote in the bypolls and will be deciding the fate of 19 candidates.

The bypolls to the Azamgarh seat were necessitated by the resignation of Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav, who was elected to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly as an MLA in the elections earlier this year.

The Rampur seat was vacated by senior SP leader Azam Khan, who too was elected to the state Assembly. The polling started at 7 AM and will continue till 6 pm, the office of the Chief Electoral Officer said.


By-elections to four assembly seats in Tripura began at 7 AM amid tight security arrangements, an election official said. Polling to the Agartala, Town Bardowali, Surma and Jubarajnagar seats is taking place in 221 booths, and it will continue till 5 PM.

As many as 1,89,032 voters are eligible to exercise their franchise to decide the electoral fate of 25 candidates in the fray. The by-elections in Agartala and Town Bardowali constituencies were necessitated after Sudip Roy Barman and Asish Saha quit as BJP MLAs and joined the Congress in February.

Surma seat in Dhalai district fell vacant after BJP legislator, Asish Das, was disqualified by Speaker Ratan Chakraborty and by-poll to Jubarajnagar was necessitated following the death to sitting CPI(M) MLA Ramendra Chandra Debnath.

Chief Minister Manik Saha, who is not a member of the assembly, is contesting from Town Bardowali constituency against Congress nominee Asish Saha. Trinamool Congress and Left Front have fielded candidates in all the four seats.


Polling is underway for the bye-election in Mandar assembly constituency in Ranchi district amid tight security. Voting would be held in 433 polling booths from 7 AM to 4 PM.

The Congress has fielded Shilpi Neha Tirkey, daughter of Bandhu Tirkey, while the BJP has pitted former MLA Gangotri Kujur against her. BJP rebel candidate Deo Kumar Dhan is contesting the election as an independent candidate supported by All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM).

ALSO READ: Email, WhatsApp Chats Reveal Sippy Had Foretold HC Judge’s Daughter Kalyani About Threat To His Life