Congress Suffers Big Jolt, 5 Former Punjab Ministers To Join BJP

Five former Congress ministers and one Akali Dal leader will join the BJP on Saturday in the presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

Union Home Minister, Amit Shah (Photo:PTI)
Union Home Minister, Amit Shah (Photo:PTI)

New Delhi: In a major setback to Punjab Congress, five of its enior leaders Sunder Shyam Arora, Kewal Dhillon, Balbir S Sidhu, Raj Kumar Verka and Gurpreet Kangad are set to join the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the presence of the Union Home Minister Amit Shah in Panchkula on Saturday. All the five have been ministers in the previous Congress government in the state.

According to the sources, Akali Dal leader Sarup Singla will also join the BJP on Saturday along with other five former Congress ministers.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah will be chairing a Punjab BJP workers meeting on Saturday and will be at the party headquarter in Chandigarh where these ministers will join the BJP, sources stated.

Amit Shah will be launching the ‘Khelo India Youth Games-2021’ in Panchkula on Saturday evening, after the party meeting at the headquarter.

The ‘Khelo India Youth Games-2021’ will be organised from June 4 till June 13. “Around 8,500 players, coaches and support staff from across the country will participate in the fourth edition of ‘Khelo India Youth Games-2021’,” according to a press release issued by the Haryana government.

ALSO READ: 3 FIRs Registered, 500 People Booked Over Kanpur Violence