Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



DMK leader MK Stalin takes oath as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu

The DMK government will have 19 former ministers and 15 new faces including two women. 

MK Stalin (PTI)

CHENNAI, Tamil Nadu: DMK leader MK Stalin has taken oath as Chief Minister of Tamil  Nadu on Friday (May 7). The DMK government will have 19 former ministers and 15 new faces including two women.

Tamil Nadu Governor Banwarilal Purohit on Thursday approved the recommendations made by Stalin regarding MLAs to be appointed ministers and their portfolios, which doesn’t include Stalin’s son Udhayanidhi.

Chief Minister-designate MK Stalin will hold several portfolios including Home, General Administration, Special Initiatives, Special Programme Implementation and Welfare of Differently -Abled Persons.

Medical and Family Welfare portfolio has been assigned to former Chennai mayor MA Subramanian and Water Resources has been given to DMK general secretary S Duraimurugan. Udhayanidhi’s close aid Anbil Mahesh Poyyamozhi has been given charge of the School Education department.


Following is the list of MLAs and their portfolios:

MLA Portfolio
S Raghupathy law department
R Sakkarapani Food and Civil supplies
T Mano Thangaraj Information Technology
Palanivel Thiagarajan Finance and Human Resources
K N Nehru Minister for Municipal Administration
I Periasamy Minister for Cooperation
K Ponmudi Minister for Higher Education
EV Velu Minister for Public Works
MRK Panneerselvam Minister for Agriculture and Farmer’s Welfare
KKSSR Ramachandran Minister for Revenue and Disaster Management
Thangam Thennarasu Minister for Industries
S Muthusamy Minister for Housing and Urban Development
K R Periakaruppan Minister for Rural Development
T M Anbarasan Minister for Rural Industries

The list also includes MP Saminathan (Minister for Information and Publicity), P Geetha Jeevan (Minister for Social Welfare and Women Empowerment), Anitha S Radhakrishnan (Minister for Fisheries, Fishermen Welfare and Animal Husbandry), SR Rajakannappan (Minister for Transport), K Ramchandran (Minister for Forests), V Senthilbalaji (Minister for Electricity, Prohibition and Excise), R Gandhi (Minister for Handlooms and Textiles), P Moorthy (Minister for Commercial Taxes and Registration), and SS Sivasankar (Minister for Backward Classes Welfare).

It has PK Sekarbabu (Minister for Hindu Religious and Charitable Endowments), SM Nasar (Minister for Milk and Dairy Development), Ginjee KS Masthan ( Minister for Minorities Welfare and Non-Resident Tamils welfare), Siva V Meyyanathan (Minister for Environment-Climate Change and Youth Welfare and Sports Development), C V Ganesan (Minister for Labour Welfare and Skill Development), M Mathiventhan (Minister for Tourism), and N Kayalvizhi Selvaraj (Minister for Adi Dravidar Welfare).

The list has three MLAs from Chennai including Stalin, Ma Subramanian and Sekar Babu. However, no minister has been appointed from the Delta region of the state. Stalin met the Governor on Wednesday and submitted a letter intimating his election as the leader of the DMK legislature party. The swearing-in ceremony will be held on May 7 at 9 am at Raj Bhavan in Chennai.DMK won 133 seats on its own in the 234-member assembly.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.


You May Also Like


Malayali engineer Dhanya Raveendran, who married Afghan national Homayon Khoram and lived under the Taliban in the nineties, recounts their story of love and...


Amid ongoing political tussle among party leaders in Punjab, Congress held a meeting of the legislative party at 5 pm on Saturday. According to...


Babul Supriyo’s departure is a blow for the BJP especially because it had built him big until recently.


So today, as the captain bids farewell to Punjab CMs chair , he will have PK to thank in some parts too.