Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Home » India » Former Goa CM Ravi Naik Resigns As Congress MLA, Party’s Strength In House Reduces to Three


Former Goa CM Ravi Naik Resigns As Congress MLA, Party’s Strength In House Reduces to Three

Naik is expected to join the BJP later in the day in the presence of the party’s Goa election in-charge Devendra Fadnavis.

Goa Congress MLA Ravi Naik resigns from the membership of the House; submits his resignation to Speaker of the Assembly, Rajesh Patnekar. (Image: Twitter/ANI)

Panaji: In another setback to the Congress ahead of Goa polls, party MLA and former chief minister Ravi Naik tendered his resignation from the state Assembly on Tuesday. Earlier, former Goa chief minister Luizinho Faleiro had resigned as Congress MLA in September this year and later joined the Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress, which has decided to contest the state polls due early next year.

With Naik’s resignation, the Congress’ strength in the 40-member Goa Assembly has come down to three.

Reacting to Naik’s resignation, state Congress chief Girish Chodankar said the party had “disowned” him long back and he was not even being considered as the party’s candidate for the forthcoming state polls.

ALSO READ: Samajwadi Party, Rashtriya Lok Dal Formally Announce Alliance For Upcoming UP Elections

Naik, who represented Ponda constituency in Goa, submitted his resignation to Legislative Assembly Speaker Rajesh Patnekar. He was accompanied by his two sons, who joined the ruling BJP last year. “I have resigned. I will let you know what is the next course of action,” Naik told reporters here after submitting his resignation.

According to sources, Naik is expected to join the BJP later in the day in the presence of the party’s Goa election in-charge Devendra Fadnavis. Ravi Naik’s younger son Roy Naik said he has requested his father to join the BJP.

In the 2017 state Assembly polls, the Congress had emerged as the single largest party by winning 17 seats. However, the BJP, which had won 13 seats, forged an alliance with some regional outfits and independents to form government in the coastal state.

Meanwhile, Chodankar claimed Naik’s exit will not dent the Congress as the latter was “only technically present in the party”.

“His one leg was already in the BJP. He had sent his sons to the BJP first,” the Congress leader told reporters. Chodankar said the Congress has already started creating a new leadership in the Ponda Assembly constituency.

“We had not involved Naik in any of the party functions. We had disowned Naik long back,” he said. The Congress leader said he had already predicted that Naik would quit the party four-five months before the elections.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Ponda block committee, during a meeting held to shortlist the candidate from the constituency for the forthcoming, had not mentioned Naik’s name, he said. “Naik was not even considered as the party’s candidate for the next election,” he added.

Since the 2017 state Assembly polls, a number of Congress MLAs quit the party and joined the BJP. Valpoi MLA Vishwajit Rane was the first to resign from the Congress. He later joined the BJP and won the bypoll from the seat. Rane is currently the state’s health minister. Soon after Rane’s exit, two more Congress MLAs – Subhash Shirodkar (who represented Shiroda seat) and Dayanand Sopte (Mandrem) – left the party to join the BJP. Both of them later won the by-elections held in May 2019.

The biggest setback for the Goa Congress came in July 2019, when a group of its 10 MLAs, led by then Leader of Opposition Chandrakant Kavlekar, quit the party. Kavlekar is currently serving as deputy chief minister in the Pramod Sawant-led state government.

At present, the Congress has only three MLAs in the state – Leader of Opposition Digambar Kamat, Aleixo Reginaldo (representing Curtorim Assembly seat) and Pratapsingh Rane (from Poriem seat).

Read Full Article



The Battle of Garibpur of the 1971 war is another example where the Indian Army's infantry battalion with only 14 PT-76 tanks was able to...


The brave heart, during his service in the anti-insurgency group, remained part of 14 encounters in which 28 terrorists of different terror outfits were...


Virat Chandra, a 9-year-old boy hailing from Telangana, is the youngest to climb Mount Kilimanjaro in Tanzania at the age of seven.


The Republic Day 2022 parade will see the "grandest and largest" flypast ever with the participation of 75 aircraft to mark the Azadi ka...


NEXT time when you are traveling to a destination, don’t forget to ride Annadurai’s auto rickshaw. Why do you ask? Because his auto rickshaw...

You May Also Like


RPN Singh was a Congress MLA from Padrauna assembly seat of Kushinagar district from 1996 to 2009. In 2009, he became a Lok Sabha MP...


A total of 21 tableaux, 12 of various states and Union Territories and nine of ministries, will be showcased at the Republic Day parade...


The terrorists lobbed the grenade towards a team of security personnel at around 3.30 PM.


According to the Ministry of Defence, for the first time, an Indian Air Force (IAF) will show grand fly past by 75 aircraft or...