Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Home » India » Goa Assembly Elections 2022: Big Blow To BJP As State Minister Michael Lobo Resigns, Expected To Join Congress


Goa Assembly Elections 2022: Big Blow To BJP As State Minister Michael Lobo Resigns, Expected To Join Congress

BJP MLA Michael Lobo resigned from the BJP, ahead of the state polls scheduled next month.

BJP MLA and Goa Minister Michael Lobo resigns. (Source: ANI)

New Delhi: Ahead of Assembly polls in Goa, a big blow came for the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party where two-time Calangute MLA and Goa Minister Michael Lobo resigned from the party on Monday. Sources say Lobo is expected to join the Congress today.

BJP MLA Michael Lobo resigned from the Pramod Sawant-led ministry, ahead of the state polls scheduled next month.

Lobo, who represented the Calangute Assembly constituency, submitted his resignations to the chief minister’s office and the Goa Assembly’s Speaker.

Lobo has resigned from both the posts, he said. “I will see what steps are to be taken next. I have also resigned from the BJP, ” Lobo, who held charge of the state waste management department, told reporters.

ALSO READ: Health Ministry Adds Filters On Co-WIN To Exclude PM Modi’s Photo From Vaccine Certificates In 5 Poll-Bound States

“I’ve resigned both from the Goa cabinet and as MLA. In Goa BJP, I don’t see Manohar Parrikar’s legacy being taken forward, those party workers who supported him have been sidelined by BJP,” said Lobo explaining his reason for exiting BJP.

Asked whether he will join the Congress, Lobo said he is in talks with other political parties.

He claimed that people were unhappy with the ruling BJP in the coastal state.

“The voters told me that the BJP is no more a party of the common people,” he said, while claiming that the grass-root level workers were feeling ignored by the party.

“I’ve resigned as Goa minister; I hope people of Calangute constituency will respect my decision… I’m in talks with other political parties. I was upset with the way we’re looked at and party workers are unhappy,” he was quoted by ANI on Monday.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The Election Commission of India on Saturday announced that elections to all 40 Assembly constituencies in Goa would be held on February 14.

The BJP, Congress, Goa Forward Party (GFP), Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP), Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Trinamool Congress Party (TMC), and NCP are the main political parties in the fray.

The poll dates were announced by Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra at a press conference in Delhi on Sunday. With the announcement of poll dates, the model code of conduct has come into force.

ALSO READ: India Begins Precaution Dose LIVE: Frontline, Healthcare Workers And Citizens Of 60+ Years To Be First Beneficiaries

(with inputs from ANI and PTI)


Read Full Article



The couple’s friends and family from across the globe will also be a part of the event, and will be able to enter the...


The Congress in Punjab is yet to decide on who will be its face in the Assembly elections. Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi and...


Lakshya Sen from Almora won against Singaporean world champion Loh Kean Yew in a thrilling final 24-22, 21-17. He became the first Indian to...


Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the number of visitors to be substantially curtailed this year. We are looking at a range of 5000 to 8000...


The team led by researchers at the University of Exeter found that 13 per cent of people still exhibited clinically-relevant levels of virus after...

You May Also Like


A Lok Sabha MP since 2014, Mann is a popular face in Punjab and is one of the indisputable comedy kings. Mann has also...


Dhanush in his shared statement, apart from revealing the shocking news also asked people to respect their decision and give them the needed privacy...


Prime Minister Modi also highlighted India's role in providing vaccines to the world.


Congress has yet now not officially announced the chief ministerial candidate and has maintained that it will contest the polls under a "joint leadership".