Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



24 New Ministers Sworn In To Gujarat Cabinet, Bhupendra Patel To Hold First Meeting As CM

The swearing-in ceremony of new ministers was held at 1.30 pm at the Raj Bhavan in the state capital Gandhinagar on Thursday.

New Gujarat Cabinet ministers take oath in Gandhinagar on Thursday. (Image: Twitter/@CMOGuj)

New Delhi: The new Gujarat Cabinet was sworn-in at the Raj Bhavan in Gandhinagar on Thursday, a year ahead of the state Assembly polls. This comes three days after Bhupendra Patel (59), a first-time MLA from Ahmedabad, took over as the new Gujarat chief minister on Monday after the sudden resignation of Vijay Rupani last Saturday. The first cabinet meeting of the Council of Ministers, chaired by Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel, will take place today in Gandhinagar.

The swearing-in ceremony was held at 1.30 pm at the Raj Bhavan in the state capital Gandhinagar. Governor Acharya Devvrat administered the oath to 10 cabinet ministers and 14 ministers of state, including five ministers of state with independent charge.

Gujarat Assembly Speaker Rajendra Trivedi resigned from his post on Thursday morning, hours ahead of the swearing-in ceremony.

Ending suspense over ministerial faces, the BJP inducted the following as Gujarat Cabinet ministers:

Cabinet Ministers
  1. Rajendra Trivedi
  2. Jitu Vaghani
  3. Rushikesh Patel
  4. Purnesh Modi
  5. Raghavji Patel
  6. Kanubhai Desai
  7. Kiritsinh Rana
  8. Naresh Patel
  9. Pradip Parmar
  10. Arjunsinh Chauhan
Minister of State
  1. Harsh Sanghvi
  2. Manisha Vakil
  3. Jagdeesh Panchal
  4. Brijesh Merja
  5. Jitu Chaudhary
  6. Kuber Dindor
  7. Mukesh Patel
  8. Nimisha Suthar
  9. Arvind Raiyani
  10. Kirti Singh Jhala
  11. Vinubhai Moradiya​
  12. RC Makwana

Prime Minister Narendra Modi wished the newly elected Cabinet: “Congratulations to all Party colleagues who have taken oath as Ministers in the Gujarat Government. These are outstanding Karyakartas who have devoted their lives to public service and spreading our Party’s development agenda. Best wishes for a fruitful tenure ahead.”

Earlier on Monday, Bhupendra Patel took oath as the 17th Chief Minister of Gujarat. The party is counting on Patel to shore up the party’s fortunes ahead of the assembly elections towards the end of next year. In the 2017 state election, the BJP won 99 of the state’s 182 Assembly seats and Congress got 77 seats.

You May Also Like


SRINAGAR, Jammu and Kashmir – Sixty-year-old Dinesh Mondal and his ice cream cart have been a fixture on the streets of Srinagar for decades....


Indian Security Forces, who have begun an anti-terror operation in Jammu and Kashmir, have continued to flush out terrorists in the valley amid a...


On October 19, 2020, the office of the Kashmir Times, located in the Press Enclave in Srinagar, was sealed by the Estates Department of...


Amarinder Singh also said that he is looking at alliance with breakaway Akali groups ahead of next year's assembly elections in the state.