K Sudhakaran Named Kerala Congress Unit President

K Sudhakaran Named Kerala Congress Unit President Congress leader K Sudhakaran- (Photo: @SudhakaranINC/Twitter)

Thiruvananthapuram: Congress leader K Sudhakaran was elected as the president of Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) on Tuesday (June 8).

The decision was taken after AICC General Secretary Tariq Anwar held discussion with party leaders from Kerala.

ALSO READ: Kerala Extends Lockdown Till June 16

A formal announcement regarding Sudhakaran’s appointment is expected in a day or two.  As per reports, Tariq Anwar submitted his report to Congress president Sonia Gandhi on Monday evening and   recommended Sudhakaran for the post.

Earlier VD Satheesan’s was appointed as the opposition leader against the wishes of prominent groups in the party. Sudhakaran replaces Mullapally Ramachandran. Reportedly, Oommen Chandy, Ramesh Chennithala and Mullappally Ramachandran had not suggested any name for the post of KPCC president.

It is believed that Sudhakaran is not affiliated to either the ‘A’ or ‘I’ groups led by Chandy and Chennithala respectively.

Sudhakaran, 73, is a four-time legislator and is presently in his second term as Lok Sabha member from Kannur. The decision regarding the new KPCC president comes at a time of factionalism within the party and after the LDF’s  historic  second term win in the Kerala assembly polls 2021.

Sudhakaran became forest minister in AK Antony-led cabinet. In 2009, he was elected to the Lok Sabha from Kannur. Later, he was defeated by CPM’s PK Sreemathi in 2014. In 2019, he won with a margin of nearly 1 lakh votes.

The Congress party believes that K Sudharan can energise the party machinery and help in the party’s revival in Kerala.



For the latest News, Breaking News, Top News, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and YouTube