Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



WB State Advocate General Kishor Dutta Resigns, Senior Adv Gopal Mukherjee Replaces Him

Kishore Datta also sent a copy of his resignation letter to the Chief Secretary of the State and to the State Law Minister Moloy Ghatak.

Representational Photograph of a gavel (Photo Credit: Pexels)

Kolkata: On Tuesday West Bengal Advocate General Kishore Datta resigned from his post.

In the resignation letter which Datta sent to the West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar he cited “personal reasons”, as the reason for his resignation.

The resignation was accepted by Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar with immediate effect.

Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar also tweeted “In terms of Article 165 of the Constitution have accepted with immediate effect resignation submitted by Shri Kishore Datta, Senior Advocate, as Advocate General of State of West Bengal @MamataOfficial with immediate effect,” and also posted Datta’s resignation letter.

ALSO READ: UP Is Difficult But Not Impossible, Says Sanjay Singh On AAP Entering The 2022 Election

Datta also sent a copy of his resignation letter to the Chief Secretary of the State and to the State Law Minister Moloy Ghatak.

According to sources, Datta did not succeed in getting an order in favor of the state in two cases. First being the Post Poll violence case where the Calcutta High Court gave CNI investigation and second relief to Suvendu Adhikari from existing cases, the court has given stay order in three of the cases against Adhikari and also provided Adhikari with interim relief.

Sources in the state administration said that Datta was not asked to resign by the State but the State was not happy with Datta s performance in certain crucial cases. Sources further state that the name of the new AG has been recommended to the state Governor for approval.

ALSO READ: Once Run By Goons, UP Has Changed For Better: PM Modi Hails Yogi Govt Ahead Of Polls

Datta, who took charge as Advocate General in February 2017, is the fourth advocate general of West Bengal in a row to have resigned from the post.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

After the TMC party came to power in 2011 Anindya Mitra and his successors Bimal Chatterjee and Jayanta Mitra had also resigned from the post.

You May Also Like


On August 17, the SCC had recommended the names of six judicial officers and one ITAT member for elevation to the bench of Telangana...


The controversial drawing was sketched using charcoal dry pastel and was captioned 'Maa aschen'.


The swearing-in ceremony of new ministers was held at 1.30 pm at the Raj Bhavan in the state capital Gandhinagar on Thursday.


Here's all you need to know if you are unsatisfied with your JEE Mains results.