Major Administrative Reshuffle In UP, 16 IAS Officers Transferred

Sanjay Prasad, the Principal Secretary to Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, gets charge of Home and Information departments, making him the most powerful bureaucrat of Uttar Pradesh.

Sanjay Prasad
File photo: Principal Secretary of Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath Sanjay Prasad and his wife Pooja Prasad shows their ink marked fingers after casting their votes for the fourth phase of State Assembly elections, in Lucknow on Feb 23, 2022. (ANI Photo)

In a major administrative reshuffle, the Yogi Adityanath-led Uttar Pradesh government on Thursday transferred 16 senior IAS officers including additional chief secretary of medical and health department.

Amit Mohan, ACS, Medical and Health, has been removed and now given the charge of Micro, Small and Medium enterprises (MSME), Export Promotion and Khadi, replacing Navneet Sehgal. Mohan’s name was highlighted in a recent controversy related to transfers in the medical and health department.

Deputy CM and Health Minister Brajesh Pathak himself raised questions against the transfer that took place in the health department. He also wrote a letter related to the discrepancy in the transfers and said things were being done without consulting him.

Also prominent among those who were transferred is Additional Chief Secretary of Information Navneet Sehgal, who lost the charge of Information, MSME, Khadi and Resham, and Handloom, and has been sent to the Sports department as ACS Sports

Hours after Additional Chief Secretary of Home, Awanish Kumar Awasthi, who held the charge of many significant departments, retired, his two most important ones – Home and Information – went to Sanjay Prasad.

Sanjay Prasad is also the Principal Secretary to Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. With the new responsibility and power added to the existing ones, Prasad becomes the most powerful bureaucrat of Uttar Pradesh.

Parth Sarthi Sen Sharma, who was on wait list has been given charge of Medical, Health and Family Welfare departments as Principal Secretary, the transfer list released on Thursday morning said.

ACS to the Governor, Mahesh Gupta, has been given responsibility of Energy department, so far handled by Awanish Kumar Awasthi. While previous Additional Chief Secretary of Sports, Kalpana Awasthi will be new ACS to Governor Anandi Ben Patel.

Principal Secretary of General Administration Hari Om has been sent to social welfare department as well as Director, Scheduled Tribe Development.

Another important bureaucratic change involved Deepak Kumar, Principal Secretary of Basic Education, who now gets additional charge of Secondary Education. ACS Secondary Education Aradhana Shukla has got the responsibility of Ayush Department as ACS. While Sudhir Mahadev Bobde, Member of Revenue Board, has got the charge of Higher Education Department.