Mamata Banerjee alleges she was ‘attacked’ in Nandigram – WATCH

Mamata Banerjee alleges she was ‘attacked’ in Nandigram – WATCH

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee alleged on Wednesday (March 10) that she was attacked Nandigram, just hours after she officially filed her nomination papers for the upcoming Assembly Polls in Bengal.

The TMC supremo, during her address to the press from inside her car, showed the injuries on her foot. Reports also suggests that Mamata was being rushed to the hospital right after.

“Someone attacked me and I have received injuries in my foot. Someone deliberately stepped on me,” the West Bengal CM told the press.

Earlier in the day, Mamata Banerjee filed her nomination paper from Nandigram and was also scheduled to stay in the district for the night. However, after the incident, the West Bengal CM left for Kolkata from Barolia for treatment.

West Bengal will go for Assembly polls in eight phases starting from March 27, 2021, to April 29, 2021, as per the Election Commission’s announcement on Friday (February 26).

The elections will be held for 294 assembly seats in eight phases as the term of the West Bengal assembly is coming to an end in May. The counting will take place on May 2, 2021.

The political campaigning for the assembly elections began months ago. The ruling TMC led by Mamata Banerjee is going to face a tough fight with the main opposition BJP. Congress and the Left parties of the state are fighting the election in an alliance.

In the last election, the ruling TMC had won 211 seats with a 44.91% vote share, while the BJP had managed to win just four seats with a 10.16% vote share. TMC was followed by CPI(M) with 26 seats and 19.75% seats. Indian National Congress had won 44 seats with a 12.75% vote share.

After winning 3 seats in the 2016 Assembly election in West Bengal, the BJP made deep inroads in the state in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections winning 18 seats and reducing TMC’s tally to 22. Out of the total 42 Lok Sabha constituencies in West Bengal, Congress won two seats, the Left drew a blank.

For the latest News, Breaking News, Top News, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and YouTube