Mamata Banerjee Sweeps Bhabanipur, Retains Chief Minister’s Seat

State minister Firhad Hakim said Mamata would win the by-poll with a lead of more than 50,000 votes which will be the ruling party's record in this Assembly elections.

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee (Photo: ANI)
West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee (Photo: ANI)

Kolkata: Just five days left for Durga Puja West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s thumping victory in the Bhabanipur bypolls with a record margin of over 58,389  votes against BJP candidate Priyanka Tebriwal brought a festive mood for the people of Bengal. 

“I have won the Bhabanipur assembly bypolls with a margin of 58,832 votes and have registered the victory in every ward of the constituency,” she said while thanking the Election Commission for holding the bypolls within six months.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee also lashed out at the Centre alleging that from the very beginning of the Assembly elections of 2021, the Centre had hatched several conspiracies to remove TMC.”

Mamata Banerjee shows victory sign after winning Bhabanipur seat.

Since the elections started in Bengal, the central government hatched conspiracies to remove us (from power). My feet was injured so that I do not contest the polls. I am grateful to the public for voting for us and to ECI for conducting polls within 6 months,” she said.

The Bhabanipur constituency, which was formed in 2011 after delimitation, has been a stronghold of the Trinamool Congress (TMC) since its inception.

Mamata broke her party’s victory margin record of 49,936 votes in the 2011 Assembly elections, the year she derailed LF’s 34-year regime.

State minister Firhad Hakim said Mamata would win the by-poll with a lead of more than 50,000 votes which will be the ruling party’s record in this Assembly elections.

Dr. Sukanta Majumdar, BJP state president said, “I congratulate Mamata Banerjee for her win, we accept the verdict of the people like we have always. A major part of the voters did not come out to vote but we are grateful to all those who have voted for us though TMC and Mamata Banerjee has tried to wipe us out, this vote inspires us to fight for the future.”

READ ALSO: Bhabanipur Bypoll Result: Mamata Banerjee Wins By Margin Of 60,000 Votes

From round two, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had taken the lead which lead to celebrations in Kalighat, Bhabanipur and in several parts of the city and districts. TMC MLA Madan Mitra himself was seen taking part in the celebrations with party workers, ”Where is Modi, where is the CBI ED we want answers. India wants it Betiya. B for Bhawanipore, B for Bengal, B for Bharat. Mamata will lead the way to Delhi.” 

While the BJP state party offices in Hastings and Murlidhar lane wore a deserted look. As the victory margin of Mamata Banerjee increased the crowd at Kalighat also increased. Party workers were seen playing with green gulal and treating passersby with Rosogollas and Sandesh.

A Trinamool Congress (TMC) supporters celebrate West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee lead during counting in Bhabanipur by-polls, in Kolkata on Sunday. (ANI Photo)

“This is the happiest day of my life as our Didi has one. She has done so much for us she deserves this victory” said a party worker.

Seema Maity, another party worker had come to give prasad to the CM after giving puja at Kalighat Temple, “I had gone to Kalighat temple today morning and performed a puja for our Didi, Mamata. I had come to give Didi prasad but police said to come back tomorrow.” 

The Trinamool Congress had registered a landslide victory in assembly polls winning 213 of 294 seats in the West Bengal assembly.

The BJP won 77 seats. After Banerjee’s defeat in Nandigram, Sovandeb Chattopadhyay, a state minister, vacated the Bhabanipur seat to facilitate her return to the assembly from there.

TMC minister Sovan Deb Chatterjee will be contesting from Khardha in the bypolls which are to be held on October 30, 2021.