Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Narendra Modi to be 1st Indian PM to Preside Over UNSC Meeting: Syed Akabruddin

Prime Minister Narendra Modi during a public address via video conferencing (PTI Photo)

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be the first Indian PM to address a meeting of the United Nations Security Council during India’s Presidency of the UNSC, said Syed Akrabbdudin former envoy of India to UN. Speaking to ANI he said that it will be the first time in 75 years that an Indian PM will address an event that shows India’s willingness to lead from the front.

“Our Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be the first Indian Prime Minister, who has decided to preside over a meeting of the United Nation Security Council. It shows that leadership wants to lead from the front. It also shows that India and its political leadership are invested in our foreign policy ventures,” Syed Akbaruddin said.

Apart from the PM, External Affairs Minister Dr S Jaishankar and Foreign Secretary Harsh Shringla will also address high-level meetings at the Security Council.

READ MORE: India Takes Over as President of United Nations Security Council

This is the eighth time that India has been appointed as a temporary member ever since the organisation was formed.

“Although this is a virtual meeting, it’s still a first meeting of the sort for us. It is historic. The last time an Indian PM was engaged in this effort was the then PM PV Narasimha Rao in 1992 when he attended a UNSC meeting,” he added.

India will start its role from August 2 when Tirumurti will hold a hybrid press briefing in the UN headquarters on the Council’s programme of work for the month.

He will hold another briefing for United Nations members who are not in the Security Council about the work that will be done in August.

With inputs from ANI

You May Also Like


On August 17, the SCC had recommended the names of six judicial officers and one ITAT member for elevation to the bench of Telangana...


The controversial drawing was sketched using charcoal dry pastel and was captioned 'Maa aschen'.


The swearing-in ceremony of new ministers was held at 1.30 pm at the Raj Bhavan in the state capital Gandhinagar on Thursday.


Here's all you need to know if you are unsatisfied with your JEE Mains results.