People Of Punjab Will Choose The CM, Who Said Congress High Command Will Decide: Navjot Singh Sidhu

The Congress party has not announced its chief ministerial candidate in Punjab, which goes to poll on February 14.

Punjab Congress President Navjot Singh Sidhu (Image: PTI)
Punjab Congress president Navjot Singh Sidhu (Image: PTI)

New Delhi: Punjab Congress chief Navjot Singh Sidhu on Tuesday said it is the people of the state who will decide who becomes the chief minister and not the party high command. The Congress party has not announced its chief ministerial candidate in the state, which goes to poll on February 14.

On being asked what’s the guarantee that the party leadership will make Sidhu its face, the state unit chief said, “People of Punjab will decide who will be the CM. Who told you that the (Congress) high command will make the CM?”

“It is the people of Punjab who made me an MLA five years ago. And even now it is the people, who will elect MLAs and the CM of the state,” said Sidhu.

WATCH: Navjot Singh Sidhu Responds To A Reporter’s Question On CM Face In Punjab

Meanwhile, ahead of the Assembly polls, several leaders from Punjab including former MLA Arvind Khanna, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) leader Gurdeep Singh Gosha, and former Amritsar councillor Dharamveer Sarin joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday in the presence of Union Ministers Hardeep Singh Puri and Gajendra Singh Shekhawat at the party office in the national capital.

ALSO READ: 5 Assembly Election Results Will Also Decide Who Rules The Opposition Space

The term of the Punjab Assembly will end in March. The Assembly polls in Punjab are scheduled to take place in a single phase on February 14, with the counting of votes scheduled for March 10.

In the 2017 Punjab Assembly polls, Congress won an absolute majority in the state by winning 77 seats and ousted the SAD-BJP government after 10 years. Aam Aadmi Party emerged as the second-largest party winning 20 seats in 117-member Punjab Legislative Assembly. The Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) could only manage to win 15 seats while the BJP secured 3 seats.