Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Pushkar Singh Dhami Set to Take Oath as Youngest Uttarakhand Chief Minister

Dehradun: Pushkar Singh Dhami is all set to become the youngest ever Uttarakhand Chief Minister on Sunday, as he replaces outgoing CM Tirath Singh Rawat.

New Uttarakhand Chief Minister Pushkar Singh Dhami (Photo Credit: Facebook/Pushkar Singh Dhami)

Dehradun: Pushkar Singh Dhami is all set to become the youngest ever Uttarakhand Chief Minister on Sunday, as he replaces outgoing CM Tirath Singh Rawat. Dhami, who has been elected as the new leader of the BJPs legislature party in Uttarakhand on Saturday, will be talking oath as the new Chief Minister of the Himalayan state later today.

Dhami, who is a two-time MLA from Khatima constituency, will be the youngest CM of Uttarakhand. It is to be noted that the 45-year old has never been a minister in the state government and now is all set to swear in as a chief minister.

“A common party worker has been given a chance to serve the state. I am thankful to the party’s high command,” Pushkar Singh Dhami said on Saturday.

ALSO READ: Pushkar Singh Dhami to be Sworn in as Uttarakhand CM Today

Born in 1975 in Kanalichhina village in Pithoragarh district, Pushkar Singh Dhami holds a law degree and served as a Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) volunteer during his early career. The now BJP leader also had been a member of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). Dhami had also served as the president of BJP Yuva Morcha, Uttarakhand twice between 2002 and 2008.

He is also believed to be a protégé of former Uttarakhand Chief Minister Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

Dhami will be the 11th Chief Minister of the hill state and will replace Tirath Singh Rawat who resigned on Friday. He will be the third chief minister of the state in nearly four months.

He is the third chief minister to be elected within a span of four months in the hill state where assembly elections are due next year.

Dhami is a Rajput who comes from the Kumaon region. With his appointment, the BJP has tried to strike a balance in the state as the current state party president Madan Kaushik is a Brahmin and hails from the Garhwal region.

ALSO READ: Akhilesh Yadav Meets AAP Leader Sanjay Singh in Lucknow, Sparks Alliance Rumours for 2022

After Tirath Singh’s resignation, the names of various MLAs were doing rounds as the BJP had said that a sitting legislator of the state assembly would be chosen as the CM.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The frontrunners to the post were Dhan Singh Rawat, Pushkar Singh Dhami, and Satpal Maharaj.

Polls for the 70 member Uttarakhand Assembly are likely to take place in early 2022.

The BJP swept the elections in 2017, winning 57 seats in the 70 member Assembly.

(With ANI, PTI Inputs)

You May Also Like


Aryan Khan’s (superstar Shahrukh Khan’s son) continued detention along with 19 others under several sections of the Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances Act, 1985...


"On Thursday, India's cumulative Covid-19 vaccination coverage crossed 1 billion. We achieved a target which was difficult, but extraordinary", said PM Modi during his...


New Delhi: As India’s Covid-19 vaccination drive touched a historical record of 100 crore mark on Thursday, the occasion was marked by celebrations around...


Ananya Panday to be summoned again by NCB in relation to Mumbai Cruise drug bust.