Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Pushkar Singh Dhami Sworn In as Uttarakhand CM, Retains Tirath Singh Rawat’s Cabinet

Pushkar Singh Dhami
Pushkar Singh Dhami sworn in as Uttarakhand CM-(Photo: @pushkardhami/Twitter)

Dehradun: Pushkar Singh Dhami took oath as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand in Dehradun on Sunday (July 4).

Dhami, who is a two-time MLA from Khatima constituency, became the youngest ever Uttarakhand Chief Minister, as he replaced outgoing CM Tirath Singh Rawat.

ALSO READ: Krishna River Row: Telangana, Andhra Deploy Police at Pulichintala Project

Dhami was sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Uttarakhand by Governor Baby Rani Maurya at the Raj Bhawan at 5 pm in Dehradun.

Uttarakhand Ministers Satpal Maharaj, Harak Singh Rawat, and other BJP leaders attended the swearing-in ceremony. Dhami retained the outgoing CM Tirath Singh Rawat’s cabinet.   

The 11 BJP MLA’s who took oath as cabinet ministers were a part of the previous cabinet. No new faces were inducted.

BJP MLAs Satpal Maharaj, Harak Singh Rawat, Bansidhar Bhagat, and Yashpal Arya took oath as ministers in the new State Cabinet.

Bishan Singh Chuphal, Subodh Uniyal, Arvind Pandey,Ganesh Joshi, Dhan Singh Rawat, Rekha Arya, and Yatishwaranand were also sworn-in as ministers.

It is to be noted that the 45-year old has never been a minister in the state government.

Born in 1975 in Kanalichhina village in Pithoragarh district, Pushkar Singh Dhami holds a law degree and served as a Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) volunteer during his early career.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The now BJP leader also had been a member of the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP). Dhami had also served as the president of BJP Yuva Morcha, Uttarakhand twice between 2002 and 2008.

He is also believed to be a protégé of former Uttarakhand Chief Minister Bhagat Singh Koshyari.

Dhami is the 11th Chief Minister of the hill state and replaced Tirath Singh Rawat who resigned on Friday.

He is the third chief minister of the state in nearly four months.

He is the third chief minister to be elected within a span of four months in the hill state where assembly elections are due next year.

ALSO READ: BJP May Appoint Deputy CM in Uttarakhand From Garhwal To Manage Regional Ambitions

Dhami is a Rajput who comes from the Kumaon region. With his appointment, the BJP has tried to strike a balance in the state as the current state party president Madan Kaushik is a Brahmin and hails from the Garhwal region.

After Tirath Singh’s resignation, the names of various MLAs were doing rounds as the BJP had said that a sitting legislator of the state assembly would be chosen as the CM.

The frontrunners to the post were Dhan Singh Rawat, Pushkar Singh Dhami, and Satpal Maharaj.

Polls for the 70 member Uttarakhand Assembly are likely to take place in early 2022.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The BJP swept the elections in 2017, winning 57 seats in the 70 member Assembly.

You May Also Like


Chief Justice N.V. Ramana has made strong observations about how the sedition law is being misused to curtail free speech, but the Supreme Court...


A hearing was going on in the courtroom when shots were fired in Rohini court premises, police have said.


Saying it doesn’t want women to be denied their rights, the SC said it had already passed interim orders and that "armed forces are...


It is never easy for a newbie, much less a “smaller” entity, to find a place in Uttar Pradesh’s crowded, variegated political mosaic. As...