Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



The Jinx of Uttarakhand Chief Minister: No CM Except ND Tiwari Has Completed 5-Year Term

Uttarakhand which was formed only in 2000 has seen 10 CMs as barring ND Tiwari no other CM has managed to complete the full five-year term. The reason has been infighting within the party whether it be BJP or Congress that has seen CMs being removed in the middle of their term in order to avoid an intra party rebellion. Prime examples of it are Vijay Bahuguna being replaced by Harish Rawat and BC Khanduri being replaced by Ramesh Pokhriya Nishank.

Tirath Singh Rawat resigned as Uttarakhand CM less than six months after he had been appointed top the post (PTI Photo)

New Delhi: Uttarakhand CM Tirath Singh Rawat on Friday (July 2) submitted his resignation to governor Baby Rani Maurya. With this, he has become the second CM of the state to resign from his position this year after his predecessor Trivendra Singh Rawat stepped down in March. However, his removal is not a complete surprise as barring ND Tiwari no CM in the hill state has been able to complete the full five-term since its formation in November 2000.

After its formation, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chose Nityanand Swami as the first CM of the state but replaced him with current Maharashtra governor Bhagat Singh Koshiyari.

The state had its first polls in 2002 in which Congress won 36 seats to form the first assembly of the state.

Harish Rawat was then the state Congress president but the CM post was given to veteran leader ND Tiwari who managed to complete his term despite severe opposition from Rawat’s camp.

In the next assembly elections in 2007, the BJP came into power and appointed former Major General BC Khanduri as its CM.

Read More: Uttarakhand CM Tirath Singh Rawat Resigns: 3 Reasons Why BJP Asked Him to Step Down

However, Khanduri had to face a lot of opposition from within the party and was replaced by current Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank.

Khanduri was reinstated back to his post before the 2012 state elections which the BJP lost by a slender margin to Congress.

Rawat was once again overlooked by the party as Vijay Bahuguna was appointed as the CM but after stiff opposition inside the party, the top post was finally handed to Rawat who served from 2014 to 2017.

In the 2017 election, Congress was voted out of power and the BJP which appointed Trivendra Singh Rawat to the top job is now looking for their third CM in four years.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


Amarinder Singh also took on the newly elected chief minister, Charanjit Singh Channi, and questioned his promises of free water and power to the...


Chief Justice N.V. Ramana has made strong observations about how the sedition law is being misused to curtail free speech, but the Supreme Court...


Saying it doesn’t want women to be denied their rights, the SC said it had already passed interim orders and that "armed forces are...


A hearing was going on in the courtroom when shots were fired in Rohini court premises, police have said.