Utpal Parrikar Quits BJP, To Contest From Panaji As Independent Candidate

Utpal Parrikar was denied BJP ticket from the Panaji constituency, which was represented by his late father Manohar Parrikar for more than two decades.

File photo of Utpal Parrikar, son of late Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar (Image: Twitter/ANI)

New Delhi: Utpal Parrikar, son of former Goa chief minister Manohar Parrikar, on Friday announced that he will contest the polls as an independent candidate from Panaji. Parrikar was on Thursday denied a ticket on the Panaji seat by BJP, which said that the party offered him two other constituencies.

Utpal had sought the BJP ticket from the Panaji constituency, which was represented by his late father for more than two decades.

“For some reason BJP did not give me candidate but given to an opportunist. I will stand for my father’s values will contest as Independent,” he said.

“Time to stand for my father’s values could not convince BJP that I enjoyed the support of people,” said Utpal Parrikar.

BJP has given the Panaji seat to sitting MLA Atanasio Monserrate. His wife Jenifer, also a sitting MLA has got ticket from Taligaon. The BJP on Thursday announced its list of 34 candidates for the February 14 Goa polls. While announcing the list, BJP’s state election in-charge Devendra Fadnavis said in Delhi that the party had given four other options to Utpal Parrikar, which he did not accept.

ALSO READ: Manohar Parrikar’s Son Utpal Denied Panaji Seat, BJP Makes Other Offers

Later in the day, expressing hopes for a resolution, Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant said the BJP central leadership was in conversation with Utpal and has offered him two constituencies.

The Panaji seat had fallen vacant with Manohar Parrikar’s demise on March 17, 2019. Utpal, who wanted to contest the bypolls, was advised against it by Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, who asked him and his younger brother Abhijat Parrikar to support Sidharth Kuncolienkar, a Parrikar loyalist.

However, the BJP lost the seat to Congress’ Atansio (Babush) Monseratte. BJP had lost in the constituency for the first time since 1995.

Monseratte had later switched over to BJP in July 2019 as he engineered the defection of 10 Congress MLAs to BJP.