Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee Takes Oath As MLA From Bhabanipur

Mamata Banerjee won the Bhabanipur bypoll on October 3, after defeating BJP’s Priyanka Tibrewal by over 58,000 votes.

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee takes oath as MLA

Kolkata: West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee was sworn-in as the Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) from Bhabanipur constituency by Governor Jagdeep Dhankar in the state assembly on Thursday. Two other newly elected Trinamool Congress legislators, Amirul Islam and Jakir Hossain also took oath along with her. Mamata Banerjee, in her trademark white Sari, took oath in Bengali. 

Governor Dhankhar on Tuesday announced that he will administer the oath to Mamata Banerjee as a member of West Bengal Legislative Assembly on October 7 in the premises of the state assembly. 

“Invoking powers vested in me under Article 188 of the Constitution, I direct the oath/ affirmation to the elected members to the WBLA viz, Mamata Banerjee ( 159- Bhabanipur), Jakir Hossain ( 58- Jangipur) and Amirul Islam ( 56 – Samserganj) shall be administered by the undersigned at the premises of the West Bengal Assembly on 7 October, 2021 at 2 p.m.,” read an order signed by the Governor and shared on social media. 

ALSO READ: TMC MP Abhishek Banerjee’s Wife Rujira Challenges Trial Court Order Directing Physical Appearance In Coal Smuggling Case

The Governor also asserted that he will not delegate the responsibility to Assembly Speaker Biman Banerjee, whose power to administer the oath of office to members of the state legislature was withdrawn by Raj Bhawan before the bypolls. Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee and two other Trinamool Congress nominees won bypolls to the three assembly seats when the results were declared on October 3.

For the first time in the history of West Bengal Assembly, the oath taking ceremony was presided over by the Governor in the main Assembly Hall. Usually, the swearing in of MLAs is presided by the Speaker of the State Assembly in the Naushad Hall. This time the Governor had decided to administer oaths to Mamata Banerjee and two other elected representatives. After being sworn in Banerjee will become a member of the State Assembly. 

She had contested the 2021 West Bengal Assembly polls from Nandigram and lost narrowly to BJP candidate Suvendhu Adhikari. Banerjee, who took oath as chief minister on May 5, needed to be sworn in as a member of the state assembly within six months, by November 4.

Banerjee then contested the bypolls from Bhabanipur and won by a margin of 58,832 votes.

ALSO READ: Mahalaya 2021: No Masks And No Social Distancing As People Offer ‘Tarpan’

You May Also Like


Aryan Khan's request has been denied for bail twice on the grounds that he was indulging in 'illicit drug activities on a regular basis'.


Dadasaheb Phalke Award is given for excellence in cinematic achievement, is the highest honour in film and is awarded by the government.


The Narcotics Crime Bureau (NCB) investigation against Aryan Khan has so far been like a bad soap opera, a vengeful operation, full of ifs...


The 'Black Lives Matter' movement had gained momentum after the death of an African-American man George Floyd in May last year.