Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Assam Assembly Polls: 73.03 per cent of voter turnout till 6 pm in second phase of polling

New Delhi: Second phase polling for the Assam Assembly polls is underway from 7 am onwards across 13 districts which will decide the fate of 345 candidates in 39 constituencies.

Election, Voting - (Photo Credit: CEO Assam Twitter)

New Delhi: Assam recorded a voter turnout of 73.03 per cent till 6 pm across 39 constituencies in 13 districts during the second phase of the state assembly polls, according to the Election Commission (EC). The Nalbari district in the state has witnessed the highest voting percentage with a voter turnout of 71.00 per cent till 3.30 pm, while the West Karbi Anglong witnessed the lowest voting percentage with a voter turnout of 57.24 per cent.

Congress leader Sushmita Dev voted at a polling station in Silchar. After casting her vote, she interacted with the media and said, “Mahajot (grand alliance) is an inclusive alliance while BJP is a communal alliance.” The All India United Democratic Front President Badruddin Ajmal also voted at polling station number 21 in Hojai. While interacting with the media after casting his vote, Ajmal asked the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to show a record of illegal Bangladeshis immigrants living in the country who were sent back as promised by the ruling party.

Earlier, former Minister of State (MoS) for Railways Rajen Gohain after casting his vote at a polling booth in Nagaon, said BJP will form government in Assam by winning more than 75 seats in the state. “BJP will get over 35 seats out of the total 47 in the first phase. In the second phase too, we will get many seats. BJP will undoubtedly form the government in the state with more than 75 seats,” BJP leader Gohain had said.

The second phase of polling for the Assam Assembly election is underway from 7 am onwards across 13 districts which will decide the fate of 345 candidates in 39 constituencies.

As per instructions all government offices, private institutes, tea gardens, banks and industries remains closed for election days. The authorities have also declared dry day in many areas where polls will take place.

Assam’s second phase polls is crucial for BJP-led alliance NDA and Congress-led Mahajot as both the political rivals will have a straight fight in all 15 seats of Barak valley. The parties have fielded many star campaigners which include Chief Minister Sarbananada Sonowal, senior Congress leader Sachin Pilot, AIUDF chief Badaruddin Ajmal and Congress MLA from Jalukbari constituency Himanta Biswa Sharma.

ALSO READ: West Bengal Polls: Second phase polling underway

For these 39 assembly seats in the second phase of Assam election as many as 345 contestants are in the fray. Apart from star campaigners, Prime Minister Narendra Modi is scheduled to address a public rally in Kokrajhar, Assam on Thursday.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The voting for the second phase began at 7 am and will go on till 6 pm. However, Election Commission has prolonged the polling for an extra hour in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Voters Statistics

The tea producing state has a total of 2,33,74,087 electors which are to cast their ballots in the Assam assembly election 2021. According to the EC, around 1,18,23,286 voters are men, 1,15,50,403 voters are women, while 398 are transgenders. The state also have 63,074 service voters.

In this second phase, the number of eligible voters in the state stand at 73,44,631 electors, out of these 37,34,537 are males, 36,09,959 are females and 135 are transgenders.

ALSO READ: Assam Polls: Phase 2 polling date, prominent candidates and other details

Prominent Candidates

Many prominent candidates have been named for the second phase of Assam elections, which include ministers from BJP like Bhabesh Kalita from Rangiya, Parimal Suklabaidya from Dholai and Pijush Hazarika from Jagiroad while former Congress minister Gautam Roy is contesting on a BJP ticket from Katigora. Others include Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary from Panery, Deputy Speaker Aminul Haque Laskar from Sonai,Rihon Daimary from Udalguri, Sum Ronghang from Diphu.

From Congress there is sitting MLA Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha from Karimganj North, former minister Siddeque Ahmed from Karimganj South and former Congress spokesperson Durga Das Boro is contesting as a BPF candidate from Kalaigaon. There is sitting AIUDF MLAs Suzamuddin Laskar from Katlicherra and Nizamuddin Choudhury form Algapur. AIUDF chief Badruddin Ajmal’s brother Sirajuddin Ajmal, a former MP and MLA, is contesting from Jamunamukh.

Former Deputy Speaker Dilip Kumar Paul, who left BJP after being denied a ticket, is contesting as an Independent candidate from Silchar.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

You May Also Like


On August 17, the SCC had recommended the names of six judicial officers and one ITAT member for elevation to the bench of Telangana...


The controversial drawing was sketched using charcoal dry pastel and was captioned 'Maa aschen'.


The swearing-in ceremony of new ministers was held at 1.30 pm at the Raj Bhavan in the state capital Gandhinagar on Thursday.


Here's all you need to know if you are unsatisfied with your JEE Mains results.