Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



Himanta Biswa Sarma to take oath as Chief Minister of Assam today

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Himanta Biswa Sarma will be sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam on Monday.

Himanta Biswa Sarma (Photo Credit: Himanta Biswa Sarma Twitter)

New Delhi: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader Himanta Biswa Sarma will be sworn in as the 15th Chief Minister of Assam on Monday. According to latest reports, BJP President JP Nadda will also attend the oath ceremony of Himanta Biswa Sarma today.

52-year-old Sarma is set to be sworn in as the next Assam CM at 12 noon today.

ALSO READ: Tamil Nadu CM MK Stalin assures people of honest and transparent administration

Himanta had taken to Twitter to express his gratitude to the people of the state and wrote: “With fragrance of Assam in my heart & love of my wonderful people in my veins, I offer my deepest gratitude to you all. I would not have been what I am had it not been for your pious faith in me. On this Day, I vow to work with & for each one of you with greater passion Assam.”

While thanking Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Sarma added: “This is the biggest day in my life, and I so fondly cherish your generous affection. I assure you we shall leave no stone unturned to carry forward your vision of taking Assam, & NE to greater heights.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

On Sunday, incumbent Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal had handed in his resignation to Governor Jagdish Mukhi. Both Sonwal and Sarma were in Delhi since Saturday for the meeting with top BJP leadership, including Home Minister Amit Shah and party president Nadda.

ALSO READ: Union Minister Pratap Chandra Sarangi suffers injuries in car accident in Odisha

The party’s central leadership had summoned them to New Delhi on Saturday for discussions on the formation of the next government in the state.

The BJP had not announced the name of the Chief Minister before the polls and speculations were rife for the last week on who would be the next Chief Minister of the state.

Sonowal was projected as the Chief Ministerial candidate during the 2016 polls which the BJP had successfully won, making him the first BJP chief minister in the North East.

The ruling BJP alliance is the first non-Congress government in the state to win an election for the second consecutive term. Of the 126 assembly seats in Assam, the ruling alliance has secured 75 seats with BJP winning 60 while its alliance partners AGP got nine seats and UPPL six.

You May Also Like


Malayali engineer Dhanya Raveendran, who married Afghan national Homayon Khoram and lived under the Taliban in the nineties, recounts their story of love and...


Amid ongoing political tussle among party leaders in Punjab, Congress held a meeting of the legislative party at 5 pm on Saturday. According to...


Babul Supriyo’s departure is a blow for the BJP especially because it had built him big until recently.


So today, as the captain bids farewell to Punjab CMs chair , he will have PK to thank in some parts too.