Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?



David Julius, Ardem Patapoutian Win Nobel Prize In Medicine For Discovery Of Temperature, Touch Receptors

David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian focused their work on the field of somatosensation.

Nobel Prize in in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded jointly to David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian-(Photo:@NobelPrize/Twitter)

Stockholm: Two U.S.-based scientists were awarded the Nobel Prize in physiology or medicine on Monday (October 4) for their discovery of the receptors that allow humans to feel temperature and touch.

David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian focused their work on the field of somatosensation, that is the ability of specialized organs such as eyes, ears and skin to see, hear and feel.

ALSO READ: WHO Has Lifted Barriers For Sputnik V Approval: Russian Health Minister

“This really unlocks one of the secrets of nature,” said Thomas Perlmann, secretary-general of the Nobel Committee, in announcing the winners. “It’s actually something that is crucial for our survival, so it’s a very important and profound discovery.”

The committee said Julius, 65, used capsaicin, the active component in chili peppers, to identify the nerve sensors that allow the skin to respond to heat. Patapoutian found separate pressure-sensitive sensors in cells that respond to mechanical stimulation, it said.

The pair shared the prestigious Kavli Award for Neuroscience last year. “Imagine that you’re walking barefoot across a field on this summer’s morning,” said Patrik Ernfors of the Nobel Committee.

“You can feel the warmth of the sun, the coolness of the morning dew, a caressing summer breeze and the fine texture of blades of grass underneath your feet. These impressions of temperature, touch and movement are feelings relying on somatosensation.”

“Such information continuously flows from the skin and other deep tissues and connects us with the external and internal world. It is also essential for tasks that we perform effortlessly and without much thought,” said Ernfors.

Perlmann said he managed to get hold of both of the winners before the announcement. “I (…) only had a few minutes to talk to them, but they were incredibly happy,” he said. “And as far as I could tell they were very surprised and a little bit shocked, maybe.”

Last year’s prize went to three scientists who discovered the liver-ravaging hepatitis C virus, a breakthrough that led to cures for the deadly disease and tests to keep the scourge from spreading though blood banks.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

ALSO READ: Taliban Ask DGCA To Resume Commercial Flights Between India And Afghanistan

The prestigious award comes with a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (over $1.14 million).

The prize money comes from a bequest left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

The prize is the first to be awarded this year. The other prizes are for outstanding work in the fields of physics, chemistry, literature, peace and economics.

You May Also Like


Aryan Khan's request has been denied for bail twice on the grounds that he was indulging in 'illicit drug activities on a regular basis'.


Dadasaheb Phalke Award is given for excellence in cinematic achievement, is the highest honour in film and is awarded by the government.


The Narcotics Crime Bureau (NCB) investigation against Aryan Khan has so far been like a bad soap opera, a vengeful operation, full of ifs...


The 'Black Lives Matter' movement had gained momentum after the death of an African-American man George Floyd in May last year.